You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Nature of Resilience

in #culture5 months ago

However, what I have questioned, is whether this kind of trauma has always existed, but we are less capable and skilled at dealing with it, so the impact it has now is greater.

I think a lot of people realize they are in abuse after 30s mostly. I realized at the end of 20s where I was exposed to world outside. I noticed that some of the really traumatic events eventually start playing in head and stop you from making even simple decisions. Only way to deal with it is bow out of abuse you take and move to difference place also impact never goes away unless abuser dies, or you die. Mental manipulation is harder to heal, physical wounds heal and our mind forgets about event.

Sort:  

Mental manipulation is harder to heal, physical wounds heal and our mind forgets about event.

I think this is actually one of the problems in the world today. I grew up where it was possible to spank a child and I got spanked. No normal parent hurts a child when spanking. However, that is n longer a tool to use for discipline, so psychological manipulation is applied instead, by people who don't have the training to do it well. A smack on the wrist or butt with a sting that last moments, or a psychological scar that will last a lifetime. Which is better? And, the parents who would actually hit and hurt their children, still do so.