You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tolerance for pain, resilience, and creative destruction

in #deutsch • 2 months ago

I think blaming my generation (I came of age in the 60s😄) is not helpful. Bread and Circus are as old as the first politician, and the first politician was probably born sometime, long ago, in a cave.

Actually, my generation was about generosity. We rebelled against the materialist culture of the 50s, the post war boom generation. We didn't want more for ourselves; we wanted more for a greater number of people. We wanted less pain for everyone, and we were willing to work for that goal. We were very willing to do with less, so others could have more. I think mine may have been the last idealistic generation.

Personally, I've always had a problem with money--that is, appreciating it. And I think the inclination to share and join in good causes is more representative of my generation than any that has come after.

The Peace Corp was a product of the 60s. Gordon Gecko was a creature of the 80s.

Of course, I may be prejudiced. I speak from experience, so that is a narrow lens.

Interesting blog, as always.

Sort:  

Dear @agmoore,

thank you for your interesting comment.

Blaming a generation is wrong in most cases, as it is a big generalization.

Actually, my generation was about generosity. We rebelled against the materialist culture of the 50s, the post war boom generation. We didn't want more for ourselves; we wanted more for a greater number of people.

Yes, your generation didn't want more for themselves, but they didn't want (or have) to pay for it either. So it was not altruistic, and I wouldn't call it generosity.

We wanted less pain for everyone, and we were willing to work for that goal.

Isn't that an aim of every generation? Mine (I am an older Millennial) want(ed) that, too.

I think mine may have been the last idealistic generation.

I am less sure about Generation X, but the Millennials were idealistic, too. Having come of age during the dotcom bubble, 911, the Afghan and Iraq Wars and the Great Financial Crisis, many were idealistic, anti-War, anti-Capitalist, etc.

Gordon Gecko was a creature of the 80s.

That is one way to put it. I'd put it this way: Gordon Gecko (or yuppies in general) are the consequence of having come of age in the highly inflationary 1970s and realizing that their Generation X was much smaller than the Babyboomers. Politically they had insignificant influence, and thus everybody fought for him- or herself, moving into cities and trying to make big money and pay little to government or society. (no taxation without representation)

Loading...