Sort:  

I'd say herd mentality is not being forced but voluntarily choosing to follow a leader and its herd.

Do people need to choose one side? I think no, but not choosing one side is also a choice, and it has certain (ugly) consequences.

Well, the herd mentality followers are forcing non followers to decide

"either you are for us or you are against us!"

Ugly consequences?
Like?
Like stopping to perpetuate the cycle?

Ofc herd mentality cannot allow that - their side NEEDS to win!

Herd followers follow the herd, they do not force anybody to do anything (they lack the power to do so).

If I live in Gaza and choose to do nothing against barbaric Hamas, one ugly consequence may be that Hamas places me in harm’s way and I get killed.

Aha so this Hamas herd is not forcing?

If you only knew how powerful herds are..