You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive-Engine DAO Funding Proposal

in #dhf3 years ago

Social media services like Twitter and Facebook are most often used by the consumer class to help distribute content found on content production platforms like Youtube or online magazine style sites, etc.

A blog post isn't social media. A video isn't social media. A short word and a link to a blog post is social media.

Short form content and social media are two different things. A quick ten second video is not created on Facebook or Twitter, it's shared there; passed around to consumers so more people can see.

Monetizing a tweet and calling that content seems kind of strange to me. That's like paying for advertisements, promos, flyers, etc.

Typically consumers outnumber creators by a huge margin. Creators benefit when consumers use a service to distribute the creator's content free of charge. Maybe now they can earn a few cents for it. It would be incredibly awkward though if distributing content paid more than creating it.

Also, far too often on Twitter I see lengthy thoughts shared in a series of Tweets. When someone has a lot to say, Twitter fails them. They'd be better off having access to a place where they can speak their entire mind in one go without interruption. I would have been incredibly annoyed if I had to break down this response into several responses due to the limitations of the software I use.

So your service does have a place in this world. If I had a UI that organizes and separates my social media from my content creation, I'd probably use your service a lot more. But right now my d.buzz would blend and get mixed in with my content and make my blog look messy, so I prefer not to use it.

If there were two separate feeds, I'd probably use it to announce new content or share what we call reblogs to my following here. I'd use it to quickly scroll through what those I follow are sharing. That feed would need to be in it's own little space that's always accessible, even as I type these words here in this box. Or as I'm creating a post, I should be able to easily scroll through the d.buzz feed without having to leave the editor. I think d.buzz would work great as a social media app built right in to something like PeakD, instead of posing as a content creation platform of its own.