The Network - Outline.

in #diy4 months ago (edited)

*** Partially AI Generated *** Regardless, many hours have been put into this outline, so kindly find something else to do if you are offended. Please don't call the cops. I don't talk to cops and I'll likely retaliate if I know you did it.


Creating a series

This is a content outline for each of my brands, Farrier Services, Steelbak, Flying-Higher and DiggnDeeper, focusing on creating “The Network” and creating a series around it by documenting its design and implementation. The outline reflects the unique focus of the respective brand while maintaining a cohesive narrative around the central theme of my network infrastructure.

Its all about using open source and decentralized tech to Own Our Means Of Production through a permissionless and open way that has no "middle men". Its all about the creators here, and our networks are the focal tool for that to happen. Thank goodness we have them.

Its finally time

I spent most of the past week and a half researching how to build and understand my Hive Witness node. Although I'm a fairly experienced server copypasta, it has taken me some time to digest this. I'm way behind, but I'm getting there now and below is the outline for moving forward. I've actually been planning on this for years, just had a lot to do first (like save money for this opportunity). Anyway, I've put a lot of thought into this and its exciting to hopefully get this going - and the right way.

If I understand correctly, this will all be self funded and I don't see why I would ever have to sell to pay the upkeep. I'm pretty sure I can handle it, but I might learn otherwise if something blindsides me that I'm just ignorant of.

Concept:

Our networks are everything these days and now we have the ability to actually OWN our communications, markets and even governance. Open source software and blockchains like Hive and Monero give us what we need. There are other platforms like NXT derivatives that have tons of value too. We’ll get into all of that.

There are much smarter people out there; lets talk to them and build this stuff.
#WeHaveTheTools

Once again, below is an first draft outline of a series I plan to create. I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Steelbak.com: Practical DIY and Homesteading Network Applications

Introduction to Network Needs in DIY and Homesteading

  • Overview of why a robust network is crucial for modern homesteading and DIY projects.

Building a Network for a DIY Homestead: Step-by-Step Guide

  • Detailed tutorials on setting up a home network using open source that supports various DIY and homesteading activities. This would focus on WordPress for marketing , Nextcloud for managing and collaborating, and blockchain technology for decentralized commerce and communications.(wp-dapp)

Case Studies: Network Implementation in Real-Life Projects

  • Documenting specific projects other than my own where the network plays a crucial role, demonstrating practical applications from different sets of needs.

Integrating Decentralized Technologies in Homesteading

  • Exploring how blockchain and meshnet technologies can be used in a homesteading context for security, efficiency and in a decentralized way.

Product Reviews and Recommendations

  • Assessing networking hardware and software that are particularly useful for DIY and homesteading environments.

Challenges and Solutions in Networking for Homesteaders

  • Discussing common networking issues faced in homesteading and how to solve them. ie: complexity and accessibly to non technical people. An entire market could be created to serve these people.

Flying-Higher.com: Open-Source Network Solutions

The Importance of Open-Source in Networking

  • Discussing the benefits and philosophy behind using open-source networking solutions.

Tutorial Series: Setting Up an Open-Source Network

  • Step-by-step guides on setting up and configuring open-source network solutions like OpenWRT, pfSense, or OPNsense.

Advanced Networking Concepts Explained

  • Delving into more complex networking topics (VLANs, load balancing, etc.) using open-source tools.

Community Spotlights and Interviews

  • Featuring community members or projects that have successfully implemented open-source networking solutions.

Open-Source Networking Tools and Resources

  • Compiling a list of tools, resources, and communities for open-source networking enthusiasts.

Integrating Networking with Other Open-Source Tools

  • Demonstrating how the network interacts with other open-source tools used in content creation (webdev:// on file browsers and calendars)

DiggnDeeper.com: Decentralized Networks and Technologies

Exploring the World of Decentralized Networks

  • Introduction to decentralized networks, their importance, and potential applications.

Building and Running a Blockchain Node

  • Documenting the process of setting up and maintaining blockchain nodes on your network.

Personal Meshnets: The Future of Decentralized Networking

  • Deep dive into meshnet technologies, their implementation, and benefits.

Decentralization in Action: Case Studies

  • Real-world examples of decentralized networks in action, possibly tied into Steelbak’s practical implementations.

Security and Privacy in Decentralized Networks

  • Discussing the security and privacy aspects of decentralized networks in its entirety from the home/ office and especially in a blockchain context.

Community Discussions and Collaborations

  • Engaging with the community on topics of decentralization, blockchain, and networking.

DiggnDeeper Discord: https://discord.gg/3nsAHtK2
All of this content is a lot to do and I'm well aware that I tend to bite off more than I can handle, but like I keep saying; I've put a lot of thought and investment into getting here.

DiggnDeeper.png

Sort:  

You are doing a great work. Building on Hive (for whom skilled on it) it's a great resource for all of us, maybe not IT skilled but willing to share contents and increasing the community!

Tanks for it and keep grinding 🔥

I'm a little behind and I'm kinda slow, but I'll catch up. I have to remember that I'm not in a race. I've done a fair bit of this kind of stuff in the past, so I'm sure I can do it.

Thanks for stopping by.

My hope is that we can make this stuff available to non-techies so that decentralization can be supported by anyone.

Building a Hive witness node on here will be a fantastic thing to do. I hope that is possible and I wish you good luck
Kudos on the great job you have always done

Thank you. I appreciate that.

shared on X

Sharing on Twitter.

The project as it is is very strong and we see the way you and many others are working on this project and telling people about its benefits so it is very good. This project will see us become more popular all over the world.