You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nextcloud - Productivity and Collaboration.

in #diy2 years ago

These cloud programmes sound amazing, as does Nextcloud. Looking at all of the services it provides to people it seems incredibly useful. But I have to say I have always avoided all cloud services. I won't even touch the free cloud storage Hotmail gives me.

I simply do not trust all these corporations with all my data, whether they claim to not snoop, claim their platforms are ultra secure and whether we still retain the right to our own data. I won't touch them.

Not only that the more information and data about ourselves we place online the more chances that when one of these cloud services is hacked the hacker will have a vast array of personal data about you in their hands.

I am incredibly distrustful of these corporations. We live in the age where data is the new oil. It is a very valuable commodity now. Can you seriously say that Nextcloud is 1000% secure and will never snoop, never share and never trade your data profile?

Sort:  

Nextcloud is open source, so people can audit the source code. Beyond that though, it is also self hosted, meaning that you can run it on your own hardware.