What Do You Do When Your Future Falls Through?

in #dreemer3 years ago

Hi! Welcome back to another episode of my life falling apart! Because I genuinely cannot and will not care anymore, it’s time to leave the next big chapter of my life to you guys because I refuse to put any more effort in LLLLLL :)

It is midnight (or it was at the time of writing this) and I am wanting to sleep for the next ten years, so I figured this was a perfect opportunity to capitalize on my problems.

Most of you don’t know I was planning on going to Senegal on a trip for at least a three-month period. What was I planning on doing?

Mind your business.

No no no I’m joking. Ok seriously, I was planning on volunteering for an organization that, for the sake of my privacy, shall remain anonymous.
However!!!! Once again!!!! Something that I was planning on!
Something to take my life into its next chapter!
Something big and new and exciting!

Has once again been snatched! Taken from me! The rug pulled from under my feet. I have lost my footing. I am falling again.

However, thankfully enough, I haven’t been as unfortunate to have all of my options taken away.
I’ve been presented with a new opportunity.

I can go instead to Spain or Belgium.

I feel like I’m in the Matrix, and I’m offered the red or the blue pill. Except there are no defined results or consequences to taking either one of those pills. It’s like choosing heads or tails, but there’s no wrong answer. Or everything is at stake and I have no way of knowing.

Instead of coming to my own conclusions based on careful dedication and research, I’m going to leave it up to you.
Yes, you. The reader.

Spain? Or Belgium?

Now, I know what you’re thinking. If something goes wrong and I hate whatever the end result is, I’m going to blame you.
And that’s exactly right.

Joking, joking, calm yourself.
At the end of the day, I’m going to officially decide on what’s best for me. But I would love to hear what you think about it.

Here are some positives to both of the options I could settle on.
If I go to Spain:

  1. I have a couple of friends that live there, ones who I haven’t seen in quite some time. During my spare time, I would love to catch up and see where life has taken them!
  2. Additionally, Spain is a country full of rich culture and unmatched beauty that I would love to experience for myself
  3. One of my close friends speaks Spanish very well and would be able to help me learn and get confident before my departure.

If I go to Belgium:

  1. Given that I was preparing to go to Senegal, I’ve tried to teach myself a rudimentary knowledge of the French language (emphasis on tried). The three most widely spoken languages in Belgium are Dutch, French, and German. It would be easier for me to continue my studies in French to prepare for the little amount of time I have left before departure, rather than cram a whole new language.
  2. I could learn more about a culture I have little to no exposure to. While this may not be the best motivation, how many people can say they have visited Spain versus people who can say they have visited Belgium?
  3. The waffles.

Writing this all out and taking the time to see the positives has really helped me to make peace with my circumstance. It’s not the end of the world, it’s still a blessing that I get to go. This trip will help expose me to some options of what I might want to do with my life.

Thank you for taking the time to read the dramatic midnight rantings of a nineteen-year-old woman child :) I promise I’m not this theatrical in real life [yes i am.]

Stay Weird

-Remy 🦑

P.S.,
I leave you with the wise words of Jeff Goldblum

gif source
gif source
gif source
gif source
gif source

Sort:  

Okay! I can see the first page of the new chapter has been written. What more can I add? 😂

Spain! vs Belgium!

Being the travel noob I am, this would be an early morning raving in response to the midnight rantings of a ... 🤫

Someone once told her mum how technology has made conversations across language barriers easier, so Spanish or French makes less difference.

Talking about culture, learning a totally new one may be pleasing than experiencing a well known one. Well, that's just my own opinion which I'm putting up for grabs.

Last choice between catching up with friends you've missed and missing out on Belgian waffles. I leave that without an answer because I might look like a foodie. 😋

All being said, Life finds a way. I'd have wished for a trip spanning both sides.
It is as it is. Every choice is filled with enough reasons to be chosen. Have fun exploring.

Fellow traveling noobs AND foodies!! Don't worry, the Belgian waffles are absolutely valid hahaha!
Thanks for your comment, I'm taking everything to heart 😊 And I'll be sure to make an update once I've reached a decision!

Lol... This doesn't sound like a rant. It's the real you. Our quirky nineteen year old... 😂.

It's good to see you writing again. I guess the next person that needs to find his foot is @mcyusuf


So, Senegal is no longer an option. That's goodnews (don't ask why. Hehe) .

You got better alternatives and since it's not going to be a short trip per se, I would likely opt for Spain.

In Spain, it would be alot easier to see people that can pick out some lines in English. It's just Spanish or English. Unlike in Belgium where they have other native language which can be quite confusing since you would have to learn it within a short period before your departure.

On the part of adventure, both Belgium and Spain would give you alot of that, but you already have friends in Spain so, getting to spend time with them whenever you are free would add more to the Adventure.

Nonetheless, you've got something to work with and I'm pretty sure that you will make a good choice.

Hahaha, I guess he and I had a slump but yep! I'm back. Don't know how long it'll last but I'm enjoying it :)
You and Penderis both agree Senegal was not a smart option hahaha! When my mom told me she was glad I wasn't going, APPARENTLY it was because a little birdie was whispering in her ear that I was going to die lolll.
Thank you for all your helpful input! It's still a complicated process but I'm looking deeper into all my options, hopefully I'll have an answer soon!

noooooooooo it wasn't that you were gonna die.

but....

I just didn't have peace about Senegal.

and really - that birdie thinks everyone should stay in a 2 block radius of their home.
so... i wasn't really listening to him LOLOLOL

but waffles FTW!!!!!!!!

Lollll... Don't worry. Tbe Grim Reaper is scared of her. She has the red eyes of our red belt killer. Hehe.

Birdie is already having all the fun in the virtual world. His gadget has a backdoor that connects him to the whole wide world 😂

ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLl

i cant wait to meet you someday! hahahaha i'm just gonna laugh all day hahahaha

HahHah... Now, that's VERY funny.
From what I know, our Chancellor is always open for Adventure.

Seems like the little birdie caught @dreemsteem when Tiger was asleep 😂.

I really can't say for a fact, but Senegal doesn't sound fun at all. Lol.

You will have an answer SOON.

Can't wait to see you adding Asian countries to your list.

hahahahahahahahaha well the birdie was pen.

and he thinks everyone is gonna die everywhere hahahaha

but he did NOT make me nervous about Senegal - i just started feeling a weird feeling about Senegal. and i DIDN'T have it in teh beginning hahaha

and i'm much more at peace now.

but looks like you think Senegal is not so good either so there we go! hahahaha

Hehehehe. I wonder why my foot is. Sure it wasn't long lost. 😴

We have some new next door neighbours and funnily enough one of them is from Spain, and the other is from Belgium. They are both lovely. From what we already knew about both countries and the odd comment from both of them, if I had to choose, I'd probably choose Spain. Unless it was going to be in the middle of summer - I'm not good with heat and isn't Spain quite hot?

Oh wow what a coincidence! Hahah thank you for your recommendation
I think Spain does get pretty warm but I would be going during some colder months, Lord-willingly.
I'll be sure to make an update post once I've made up my mind!

hehehe i don't know if you know @quirky.countess - but @kiwideb is @andysantics48 sister hehehehe

i was gonna grab her in a huge hug when I went to see Andy too!!

but then - COVID. ughhh

its ok. i'm still going. someday!!!! LOL

I know! We met on Steem!

awwww hehehhe reunion!!! :)

If I am reading this today, this means, you already decided and you are probably on that trip already.

So, I'll ask you, which did you choose and why? Fast forward to today, how's that choice going? I hope you ain't having any regrets @quirky.countess

jeffy. i love him

he is just the best. Grandmaster and all! :) hehehe

and I'm excited for the change - it will be all good!!! and the waffles!!!!!!! Dearie me - the waffles! this alone is reason enough!!!

hehehe I'm so glad you're back!!! :)

and i'm the first comment here
yayyyy
and now i will go be the last shameful comment on the other .. boooo

You and Ismaheel both agree the waffles are the best part hahaha
I suppose my mind is made up!

but what do i know.

i just love waffles hehehe

Congratulations @quirky.countess! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.
You got more than 300 replies.
Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

What great options you have left to you :-) So what I would do is this... go to Spain ... friends are more important than waffles lol and you know what...you can always fly to Belgium for a weekend whilst in Spain. It's only a few hours away and on a long weekend, you could take in Brussels and Bruges (the latter which is lovely) and eat all the chocolate and waffles you can consume and do a day trip visiting some of the WW2 sites. Meanwhile back in Spain you have your friends and English is so widely spoken as half of Britain lives there lol ... It's a huge holiday destination for the Brits and I promise you they don't all know Spanish so you'll get by just fine on American lols (I know it's also English but you know it's the accent haha). Also, Spain has fantastic architecture, culture, food, nightlife, and beaches ...oh and did I mention that thing called the sun! Yes, you won't find much warmth further up North in Belgium if you are planning on going in the cooler part of the year. Now, I have actually been to Belgium on the back of a motorbike from the UK with my hubby some years back before kids. It was a super fun trip but I think that had more to do with the motorbike, our wedding anniversary and accidentally consuming way more alcohol than we had planned in the middle of the day...who knew the youth hostel bar we were drawn into whilst in Bruges (it had a sign outside saying pool tables lol) served triples as standard!!! It was cheap...you do the maths ...cheap alcohol, high alcohol content ...no lunch ...let's just say we fell asleep on one of the bridges over the river after hubby had illegally gone skinny dipping in the city (he was fully clothed for the nap lol)😄and when we woke up and looked through our pics we were ROFL as there was a nice selection of pics of us with other tourists taken on the bridge before we had our unscheduled nap in crazy fun poses 😂 Clearly we were having a blast but neither of us remembered it🤣Now I don't drink a lot at all and these days if I consume 1 alcoholic drink every two weeks it's a lot lols ... so anyone reading this...don't get the wrong idea ha ha ... the joys of our younger years. Anyway, Bruges is very pretty and well worth a visit. Now I haven't been to Spain but I have been to Portugal in October, which is alongside it and the weather was still lovely and warm despite the swimming pool water being a tad too cold at that time of year so Spain is similar. In the summer it should be fabulous. My hubby has been a few times and has enjoyed it. I have lots of friends who have been to Barcelona and Madrid, two fantastic cities, and to the many coastal towns on the Med. There is something for everyone in Spain, from party resorts/towns to those that are more suited to families and quiet getaways. Unless you have an insatiable desire for Belgian chocolate and waffles, I know where I would go. Have fun deciding and DYOR and whichever you decide, have the trip of a lifetime. If you transit through London, or better still, have a layover here, let me know, I'd be happy to show you around😊

Amazing read!!!! You have an amazing life choosing between choice countries of the world to visit. Thats something I can only wish for at the moment.

I am guessing you have made the trip already... I hope you had fun.

Hey, @quirky.countess, I just recently found out you are related to dreemsteem.... You have a wonderful mom I must confess.... And she let me in on a secret too 🤐

I hope you are enjoying yourself? Please take care. I'll be happy to hear from you though. 🤗