First recap of 2024! Plus this weeks post prompt (sort of)

in #earn5 months ago

image.png

The holidays are over (for many) and a New Year has begun (for many) but our what did you do over the Holidays prompt has certainly run long enough. Having said that...for anyone celebrating the lunar new year (which hasn't happened yet) or for any Eastern Orthodox Christians who won't celebrate Christmas for another week and a bit...feel free to post about your celebrations after they take place :)




This time we had a number of people writing.

@supernova004
@jjmusa2004
@monica-ene
@lightpen
@rare-gem
@emreal

A lot of the usual suspects and thank you all for your participation. Unfortunately as I was busy with a monster post which took up a huge amount of my time and holiday celebrations myself I didn't get around to asking the #hivepakistan crew to curate the posts. For that I'm so sorry and I hope to do better coming up. As a small consolation everyone has been 200 GLD tokens for participation in this post prompt.

A special note for @emreal who got my name wrong @targanfp I had to laugh a little at that one.

It seemed that everyone enjoyed their holidays. Some went away, some stayed home, some with family, some with friends although it seemed everyone had good food to eat and good memories to carry them forward. Thank you to everyone for participating!




<center<Now what is the post prompt for the upcoming week?

Good question.

As it is a new year I think I should throw out the prompt : Where should the community go for the coming year? What would make it better? What discussions would you like to have? What post prompts would you like to see? How can we make this more interesting for the people who are here? Should we try to make it grow larger or keep it as a close knit group of people?




Why I started the community

I may not have been entirely "up front" when I started the community. My goal for the past year has been to learn all that I could. Learn about posting, learn about earning, learn about communities, learn about the financial system here on Hive. In addition to that I wanted to learn about how people live, earn, spend and give around the world. As most people here are from Nigeria I've learned bout the Nigerian situation.

The whole point of a year of learning was to try to find a way to use Hive to make people's lives better. In that regard I've sent a proposal to @monica-ene and @jjmusa2004 to start a permaculture project with the whole focus being to help people earn some cash, spend it wisely, and find a way to give back to the environment and community at large.

IF they decide that its a project worth following up on then I think that this community may find itself being a showcase for the efforts towards this goal. About a project showing how people can Earn, Spend, and Give while living a frugal and fulfilling lifestyle. No guarantees it will work, but that's the whole point of documenting the struggle!




In addition to making this community a bridge between virtual writing and real world efforts I really want to work on the GLD coin.

Over the Christmas season I tried hard to make an NFT to give to all the contributors in the community as my gift to you. 10 NFT's were made but they are all stuck in the development and distribution stage. After talking with Tribaldex it seems I may need to spend a lot more money to make that dream a reality.

I also looked into getting badges for the members of the community. After talking to dlmmqb (don't want to tag him--he already has enough to read) it seems that making badges for the community is even more work than making NFT's.

In that regard I'm so sorry everyone, I have big plans, but sometimes they are more work or with larger learning curve than I'm current able to do.

So, I'll still keep seeing if there is a way I can make NFT's and NFT mining a part of what this community does. I'm still going to work on a way where members will be able to purchase virtual NFT's and get a physical product shipped to them. In the shorter term I'm going to look at making a mining pool available for your GLD tokens so they can produce income for you week after week. The goal of the mining pool will be to give members 1 GLD monthly for every 100 GLD staked. 1% monthly return.

I need to get 1000 BEE (400 HIVE) to activate a mining pool though so that may take me a little time. I'm still trying to move around real world money to create a virtual system on Hive.




Final message?

I do have big plans for the community. It may transform yet again to reflect a more real world mission..but that is still in the talking stage. I hope it develops to the point where members will be able to earn regular income from the GLD coin.

However happens I want everyone to know I'm so happy that you have joined me on this learning journey. I hope to hear your thoughts on what would make the community better, and what we should talk about in the coming year!

Thank you so much!

Sort:  

Thank you for the token. I have a lot of interest in how the implementation of the permaculture proposal goes when it begins.
I checked my hive-engine and saw my 100 GLD token worth more than $3000. I laughed because I knew that something wasn't clear to me. I got a little clarification this morning from @hiveabbyftp.
I am concerned about the unavailability of staking option too. I think that would be a great achievement if GLD could be staked to earn 1% monthly. This would make the coin popular beyond this community. More adoption means more value.
You are putting a whole lot of efforts, @terganftp. Kudos!!!

If you are interested in the Permaculture proposal then chat with @monica-ena or @jjmusa2004 if it goes forward they will be my "feet on the ground" to move it forward. I'm also relying on them heavily to be a "reality check" as I know little about Nigeria and less about Ilorin/Kwara state. Things that seem like a good idea from afar might be a really bad idea closer to home :) However, I do truly believe in Permaculture and Hive and think together they could make a great team.

As for the GLD token I think one of our members paid far too much for a tiny little fraction of GLD (0.223) and that sets the bar for what its price is. Considering what little I have to go on I'm guessing she probably paid 2 -3 hive for such a small amount. It's nice to see your overall value go up but it really isn't true. I'm sure you know but I'm also @hiveabbyftp. That's the account I use to hold value for the community and run the GLD coin.

As for staking/mining I'm looking into it. I think I can get it going with about 300 Hive to start and then another amount of tokens to put in for rewards (probably 50 Hive or so). It will probably take two months to get that going. I'm talking to an investment broker Monday to setup a fund which will pay out monthly interest which I can invest into Hive.

My primary interest it for the community as a stable value source. When the time comes that I / We purchase land I'll also open up GLD staking as a way to obtain a fractional share of the land purchased....if Nigerian laws and incorporation statutes make it legal. Right now I'm more concerned with setting a stable bar for the currency so that when it is viewed in a year or two time by people outside the community they can see that it is well tended, and well funded.

At least that is the goal. Your part of the test crew...expect mistakes while I muddle though :)

Alright... I will reach out to @jjmusa2004 to see how it goes. The details that I read from you last post about it drew in my interest. I love investing in agriculture because the value chain is vital to the society and at the same time profitable relatively.

I am getting to know now that you are the same person as @hiveabbyftp. Good to know. I got the details from the post from the account that I read when I got the 100 GLD prize.

I am very interested in the GLD staking project and your plan in Nigeria regarding getting land and all that. Opportunities abounds in Nigeria.

I'm glad you are interested in the project, I'm certainlh excited. I haven't heard anything back from @monica-ene or @jjmusa2004 yet. I'm hoping because it was a long article and takes a while to read. Other option is they didn't like it and are thinking of ways to tell me gently that it won't work. As for agriculture being vital to society I absolutely agree which is why that's where I'd like to start :)

As for staking GLD, I'm certainly pursuing it, I just hope its not too challenging to set up.

Thanks for your interest, looking forward to making updates as things progress from tiny idea to actual project :)

I haven't gone through this particular post, but since you mentioned me here.
I should drop it quickly that I'm in page 20 of the PDF as at this minute..

Actually I thought that I will conclude it in a day but I had too many distractions from other works here and I am making time to complete the PDF and send my review as soon as possible.

I totally understand :)

It isn't a small article. If you made it to page 20 your over halfway...barely :)

Thanks for your time and appreciate the effort :)

Happy New Year @terganftp, you sure had lots of challenges over NFTS and badges, didn't know it could be that difficult but don't worry, with time and consistency everything will fall in place. You are not the type that gives up easily so I believe you will achieve it all and we will all have reasons to move this community forward.

I wish I had your confidence :)

Badges are something I looked into but those aren't going to be coming through my effort.

NFT's are something that is going to cost upwards of 2000 HIVE to incorporate which is a fair amount of crypto! Perhaps in time but its not a priority right now.

Staking and Mining are higher priority for me right now so that your GLD tokens can make a return. I need there to be a reason to hold them other than just as a thank you token :)

Exactly, I understand your point. It will come through okay.

As long as I keep getting up after the failures and keep on trying :)

Exactly boss

Happy new year, thank you so much for the prize. I love this week's prompt. I look forward to reading different entries 🥰

This community is going growing,I must commend your labor so far. like you said, it might not look like it yet. it's just the matter of time, growth is a gradual process.

All the best in the new project you are embarking on, let's trust God, it will be prolific.

I have already take note of your username, I am not making that mistake again hehe 🙃

Hehe,...

If I can't childe my friends a little that's no fun.

Just know I meant nothing bad and took no offence. I just thought it was funny.

Also remember that you are a valued member of this community (at least to me). I would love to get your opinion on post topics and direction for the community also.

Heheh, I was not offended about it at all sir 🥰. I didn't even know I got the name wrong, I thought i knew it offhand 😂😂

Thank very much sir.. I really appreciate ❤️❤️