Well I'll be Damned... Im Producing Blocks On EOS

in #eos7 years ago (edited)

EOS Block production.JPG

I went to bed last night dreaming about being a witness on the EOS network. After some yard work this morning I decided to give it a try...

You Should Know

  • I have very limited skills and time using Ubuntu. Maybe about a month or so. I'm not a coder by any stretch of the imagination.
  • I'm running Linux using a virtual machine. (Virtual Box)
  • The computer I'm using is a turd. A few year old Walmart boxed Dell Inspiron 15 (i3, 6gb ram)

I basically followed the steps on the EOS Github: https://github.com/EOSIO/eos#singlenode

I'm producing blocks and I feel like I'm experiencing history in the making.. just amazing!

Maybe in the future I can truly pursue becoming a EOS witness. I have some capable computers that I use for mining but wonder about the storage network that will be a part of EOS and if block producers will be required to provide that storage. I have much to learn but am willing to put in work. Maybe @dan can help me gain some perspective and guidance on how I could better contribute to the EOS network... Lord knows I'm making my consistent contributions to the token distribution : )

I may be shooting blanks (block-wise), but they are powerful blanks! As I finish this post I just produced my 400th block, Steem on friends!

P.S. If you get a second you should check out The Dollar Vigilante interview with Dan that was posted 6 days ago:

Sort:  

Interesting... So you're running an EOS node? Did you need to stake coins?

Yes running a node. You do not need to have any coins to do this.

Interesting. What does this grant you? Can you run an application yet? Or is it supporting the network?

Thanks!

eos is a pump and dump right now.

Not going to lie... these bear flags aren’t looking good for price. But I’m in at $0.5, 0.7, 0.85, 0.95 ... will pick up more on a dump