SteemCampUK - who and what?

in #events6 years ago

IMAG0302.jpg

We had fourteen, but @davedev seems to have ducked out of the pic! So here's the lucky thirteen who made it into the official photo (sorry, the photographer seems to have blurred the right hand side!) for the first UK SteemCamp yesterday.

back row: @article61; @dayleeo; @teamhumble
middle: @redrica; @lloyddavis; @rimicane; @steevc; @slobberchops; @cryptofunk
front: @beautifulbullies; @dobsdies; @ultravioletmag; @bingbabe

People called sessions on:

Getting Started/How to stay motivated as a minnow or plankton - @davedev & @slobberchops
Curation Projects: to get recognised and rewarded - @rimicane
Mining vs Nodes & profits - @dobsdies
Crypto - @cryptofunk
Paid Votes? Good/Bad/Indifferent? - @steevc
Short Term Exchange Strategies - @lloyddavis
Opinions & Feedback on Lifeshelf/Minimal/Sensei - @teamhumble
Platform Agnostic & Income Agnostic Starter Kit etc - @dayleeo
Promo-Steen Voluntary Mechanics Local Steem Events - @article61
Cards Against Humanity - @redrica

These titles are taken from the agenda we made, they don't necessarily represent how things turned out - watch out for #steemcampuk tagged posts from all of the above on what actually happened.

From my point of view, the successes were that people came and stayed (!) and that there was buzzy conversation throughout. Thanks everyone who came and those who couldn't make it but sent their support.

I will write more and certainly be doing more of these in other parts of the country (big vote for London next!) I learned a lot about doing this sort of thing specifically for a Steem-based group, we'll just keep getting better.

And I'm committing to at least try to use Discord a bit more :D

Sort:  

Fourteen is a great start! Discord is one option for engaging, but I notice other community-focused accounts have provision for posts by other selected members of the community (I guess they are sharing the posting key)? @runningproject is an example.

thanks Shani, I hadn't seen that, but I like the idea, I'll have a look.

Thank you again for organising the day, I had lots of fun and it was great to meet everyone in person! We truly are real people behind those keyboards! haha I have been busy all day again today with a charity bulldog event, but I am hoping to at least draft a post about #steemcampuk ready for posting properly tonight/tomorrow. Hopefully see you at the next meetup! :D

It looks like you are having fun, and that's the main goal I am sure.

I hope you do one in Autumn in London, as I'll be around a bit and am hoping to get to do at least one or two steemit meetups whilst there :)

WOWW! I’ll definitely join this Steemcamp when I'm there in UK soon ! 😁😁

i think who needed to be there was there and it was a great start to what will a successful group of gatherings. i have no doubt about that.

thanks for the ongoing support, lovely man - good to have them Capricorn hugs!

Great to see this great crowd! sorry I wasnt there (Birmingham is where I am currently living). but I was in Lisbon for an important stag party this weekend.... Will do my best to be there for the next one!

can't agree more with all the comments made here. Excited, informed, inspired, absolutely knackered! :)

Hats off to you @lloyddavis, it was every bit as lovely as I expected.

Thank you for creating a safe, welcoming, creative space for all of us weirdos to gather and have some analog mind meld time.

SEE YOU ON DISCORD!

;)

Nothing wrong with a little soft focus 😂😂 thankyou for organising am just waking up now was wiped when got home!! Think it was about midnight even later for @redrica !

When did you do the pic? I’m guessing it was when I was downstairs explaining to the people at Impact Hub what SteemCampUK was all about :-(. Great day!

Many thanks to you for putting on this event. It's a shame not everyone could make it, but those who did seemed to really enjoy it. I expect you are feeling a bit drained today, but have a great day.

I'm quite glad I didn't rush home - I love doing this sort of day, but it can take it out of you :) lovely to have you along as usual.

Well done @llyoddavis. Glad it went well, although that was never in doubt! 😁

Looking forward to reading everyone's blogs.

Thank you - we'll get you there next time!

Hey guys, I'm a fellow brit here learning my craft with artsy steemians! glad to see a British foundation forming for the Steemit community!

hello and welcome! Look out for a London SteemCamp sometime in the Summer - I expect there'll be more and more meet ups before then though.

Oh that sounds great! As a Londoner I will definitely be attending... Also following so I will keep my self updated.

Hi, i just came to Uk a few days ago. I would love to meet you, share experience and even learn. Where do you usually organize the meetigs?

This was the first one. There are various meetings across the country. Some of us will be at the Cryptocurrency Show in London this weekend

Congratulations @steemcampuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!