Achievement Unlocked: Jogged 2k

in #fitness6 years ago (edited)

Haven't been active lately. As @techslut sort of vanished into the void that is managing @utopian-io, I lost a bit of interest.

And yet, when I ran 2k for the first time this morning, steemit was the first place I wanted to post about it. I did post first on facebook, but that's just because it took no effort at all.

Goals

I like goals, especially achievable goals with measurable progress. It allows me to feel my improvement over time, and feel satisfied when I get there. It's the reason I liked bouldering (low height, no ropes rock climbing) so much. I'd find a route, and work on finishing it, sometimes achieving it within the scope of two hours at the gym.

On the 24th of February I set out with a goal, the goal was to jog every day for 30 days. Jog as far as I can in one direction, and then walk back. By the 5th day, though, I realized that walking back more than 800 meters just takes too long (I get bored easily), so I decided that I'll jog 800 meters, and then jog back as far as I could, and walk the rest of the way. 800 meters just happens to be a big junction, or I'd make it 1000 meters.

On the 6th day I didn't jog, and realized my initial goal was not going to happen. Instead, I set my goal to jog 2k (meters). 2k is the standard measurement of fitness in Israel. They use it in school, and in the (mandatory) military service. I have never completed 2k, not even close. In the army, I walked the 2k and by the time I got back, the person taking time wasn't there anymore. 2k it is!

Lastly, I read that if you tell other people your goals, you actually have less chance of achieving them. And sure enough, I don't think I've ever achieved a goal I told people about. So I just said I started jogging.

Reaching my goal

P80407-101201.jpg

Me happy

Today I jogged 2k. I didn't feel stronger. I just didn't go out of breath and my legs didn't cramp. I left the house a bit late, 9:50 am, and was worried it will be too hot, but it was actually fairly perfect.

But the road was a bumpy one. I had a couple of vacations, and some bad days in the mix, but I didn't give up. That's the important part. I didn't give up.

This past Sunday I also weighed myself, and found I weigh 91.5kg, which is outside my comfort zone. Weight itself isn't a great indicator of fitness, but it's a good place to put a stop and get your shit together if you know you have a tendency to gain weight. I knew I haven't been working out enough, and have been eating more junk, which is why I weighed myself to begin with.

I started a diet. Low carbs low fat. That's not keto, where there is no carbs and lots of fat. I started out with a feeling of punishing myself for my bad habits, but by Thursday I mostly managed to shake it, and find a balance. I was in the mindset I should not eat anything tasty, because food should just be nutrition. Really wanted to stop eating emotionally and because it's tasty. But, food is awesome, and I intend to keep eating tasty food. Just, in moderation.

I have another goal there, but I'm not going to tell you what it is!

Anyway, here is my progress. I'm honestly surprised how easy it was to get to 2k once I got back to doing it regularly. Just over two weeks from the 20th of March, and didn't even run every day.

Sort:  

I am proud of you. And kinda jealous. <3

Thank you <3

When you stop living on the 4th floor with no elevator, we can realistically try and get you to walk every day. Maybe even jog.

Oh, and it's @utopian-io . The account name of the void that has sucked me in. :)

Fixed. It is important to call void sucking demons by their proper name, it keep them at bay. Or summons them. Who knows.