Vegetarian Supper: Pasta alla Norma

in #foodlast month

As is usual this time of year, the BBQ has been cleaned and we've had our fill of meat based meals. Also, as is usual this time of year we've got a little sick of it already 😂.

The 11 year old likes aubergine so I went on the hunt for something we've not had before. I stumbled across Pasta all Norma which is so very easy and delightfully tasty.

I diced, oiled and seasoned a good size aubergine and roasted at 220c for around 25 mins until golden.

In the meantime, finely sliced onion was softened in a pan using olive oil. I don't usually use extra virgin olive oil for cooking but that's what the recipe suggested, so that's what I used. Then a few cloves of grated garlic. Once softened a glass of white wine was added, then passata once the alcohol had cooked off. Once all ready wholewheat cooked spaghetti was added along with the baked aubergine.

The pasta was still a little too al dente, so it was cooked a little longer in the pan with some shredded basil.

IMG_3319.jpeg

The recipe did say to add some oregano but I forgot all about that. I'm not sure it would have made much difference.

The recipe also suggested pecorino cheese but I couldn't find any of that locally. I used Grand Pandano instead as ... well it was cheap.

IMG_3320.jpeg

It earned me a double thumbs up from the 11 year old so it looks to be a keeper.

Sort:  

I've always wondered what the recipe for this dish was. Sounds delicious!

It really was rather delicious! I love aubergine and have been on the lookout for more ways to cook with it.

That looks like a good meal. We've been using Gusto a lot lately, so it depends on what they offer. We eat pretty well with that.

!BEER

I've not tried Gusto but will give them a look. I got a good discount offer from Hello Fresh again so we'll be having those 3 meals a week for the next month.

We like our meal kits for extra variety in our meals. We've used a few services.

Loading...

Hi @stav,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.