Chronicling America At The Library Of Congress

in #freewriters29 days ago

LOC Paper Clippings.png

LOC snippet

I am not real sure what I was hoping to find by heading back over to the LOC but I already had The Sunday Star open. I decided to read and see what was available and I came across two accidents that happened in the same week.

I then decided to see what was going on in Washington D.C that week and came across information about the Shriner's convention held there during the week of June 3rd 1923.

After coming across this information and a Washington Post article I could not read because I have no subscription, I headed back to the LOC to search for more information. I was sure I was not going to find any relatives in the area at the time, although they may have been there. It seems like this was more of a high society event and my family mined coal.

One article I saw quoted over two million people being transported by the new transportation method (I assumed it was the street trolleys), and another quoted over 250,000 attendees.

In either case I can just imagine the hustle and bustle of all the high society folks moving about in attendance of all the events that were going on that week.

The LOC is also, in my opinion, a fabulous place to search for any historian or genealogist looking for information on family or what was going on during a specific time.

Thank you for reading and If you enjoyed my content, please consider supporting me. If you are a hive platform user I look forward to engaging with you in the comments section.

Sort:  

It's remarkable the sheer quantity of information that's out there! To think that the internet is the most information but that's only possible because more of it is documented in an easy to find format. With all of these historical records, there is just as much information, but it's so much harder to find if you don't know how!

I wish the old libraries still existed, the massive ones where you had stacks of books everywhere and needed ladders and stuff to get to them. It's something every state should aspire to building!

I do no think I have ever lived in a city that did not have a library. That said I understand that it is not always about books but also periodicals and the latter is not something they offer in a physical archive. I think if one are looking for something like that they would need to dig deeper to find out where such a thing exists. Libraries are government run from my understanding and the employee's are not always as knowledgeable as they need to be. That leaves the searcher frustrated trying to locate the information they seek.

I know when I lived in pinellas county in florida they did inter library loans without a fee. That is not so in the city I am in now. They offer the inter library loans but at a fee which I think prevents some people from wanting to participate.

Libraries are great but I look at the internet as a HUMONGOUS library archive. I love coming across stuff like what I wrote about in this post. And sorry for the overly long reply. 😁😁