Garden Corner 9

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)








Garden Corner 9

There are days when I question everything I am doing. Today was one of those days.

We are on our Urban 1/3 acre homestead for about 9 years now. During that time, I planted lots of fruit trees, got introduced to Permaculture, installed irrigation, then learned about dry farming, then went back to knowing that I need irrigation for what I want to eat.

I got chickens that made more chickens. So, all my kids also have chickens now. And I have way too many eggs.

And then, there are the gophers. Last year, my little Minpin got run over by a car. This year, I can really feel how much she took care of the rodents in our garden.

Today, I went from one frustration to another. I spend a lot of woman hours in that yard and to see one plant after another getting eaten (only 3 Artichoke plants left out of 12 I planted), I ask myself why I am doing this?

I set more traps today. One right under my apple tree where the gopher has been feasting. I hope he didn’t get too many roots and hope that he will run right into my trap.

Yup, and the onion, the beet (not the first from either one) and the list goes on.

It didn’t help that I tried to weed whack and this happened…

Do you have days like that where you wonder what in the world are you doing?

What is the Garden Corner?

Every Friday, I am asking you to share your garden with me. It could be pictures you are taking with what is happening now, or some from last season if you are headed towards winter.

If you are on Steem, I am giving away at least 2 Steembasicincome (SBI). If you are not on Steem - what are you waiting for?

Last weeks winners - 2 SBI each: @erikah, @ketcom, @simms50, @simplymike, @plantstoplanks.

Screen Shot 20190531 at 8.01.28 PM.png



sustainablelivingpodcast

Find us here:

Website: http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/user?u=2723500

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Join me and post from image.png to earn Steem. My referral link to join.

Sort:  

Yes, I have, unfortunately. Sometimes when nothing goes as planned I react like you but then better days come. Don't let it get to you.
When you have a garden you have obstacles to overcome but there's always a way.

We have too much rain at the moment, the fields look like rise fields, everything is under water and there's nothing you can do. At least you have a trap that can solve the problem.
Chin up my friend and don't let it upset you!
Thank you very much again for your support and generosity, it means a lot to me!
Hugs 🤗

You are welcome! And thank you for your encouragement and for regularly participating in the Garden Corner 😄

And too much rain can be a huge problem. Hope you weather gets better soon!!

Congratulations @sustainablelivin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Ah, I remember those annoying gophers and those weird mole crickets that kill trees by eating their roots...I'm glad we had none of those for a very long time now.
Finally finished my own garden update for May, too:
https://steemit.com/gardenjournal2019/@exator/garden-update-may-2019

Thank you for participating!!
I had a little dog who took care of them. This year, they are bad everywhere and she is not here. Good for you that you don't have them anymore in your area.

Thanks for the SBI!!!!!

You are welcome - participate again - you never know, there might be more LOL