Preparation For My Window Garden

in #gardenjournal2 years ago

It's this time of the year again when I could smell the Spring in the air and see its presence in every corner of the street. It's time to start preparing for my garden. It is a bit early and I know as it is still very cold now in Wellington, winter is making its way back tomorrow ❄️☃️🌨️. However, this year I am going to be away for a month, visiting my family in Vietnam so I need to start my veggie garden early.

Last year, I tried to grow tomatoes, basils, spring onions and Vietnamese mints. Although I don't have a proper set up for gardening, the flat I am living now has a window looking to the north so it gets plenty of sun during the day, a perfect condition to grow veggie at this time of the year.

I already prepared the soil with my DIY fertilizer I made couples of months ago from the fruit skin and organic waste from my kitchen. Just one more week, my seedling will be good to transfer to a bigger space so it can start growing properly.

Introduce my new tomato plants - 14 days old - still very small and not yet ready to be repotted. I will it another week or so to grow its third leave.

A new face in the garden this year, rocket or rucula in Spanish. I found my big love for Rucula during my trip to Argentina this year so I decided that I have to grow it at home.

These little ones are mesclun greens. Love to add them to my sandwich so will be great if I can grow them myself.

And today is day one for my avocado tree. A couple of month ago I saw one member in our community sharing how to grow avocado plants from seed and I think it is really cool if I can do the same. So here is my little experiment to share.

I am so excited to greet my seedlings in the morning and run as fast as I can in the afternoon after work to see them. There is so much joy in gardening. Soon I will move to a place with a small yard so I can have a proper set up for a small garden. Until then, will still enjoy my little window garden.

Oh I almost forgot to update you with some of my beautiful indoor plants. They are my princesses. Here you go.

Green princess is my favourite indoor plant. It is so easy to care and require very little maintenance. If you remember just couple of months ago I shared with you a post on how I repotted this plant, now it is growing like crazy and nothing can stop it. I was even away for almost a month and when I was back, it still looks really happy

Testing my creative mind to decorate my two little plants. I collected some old branches and use one urchin shell to create a unique look for my plant.

This is my entry post for "The One And Only Garden Journal Challenge: October 1". If you have love for plants, it would be great to hear from you. Find out more about the challenge here.

Oh last but not least, my attempt to do a selfie for this challenge. I normally don't want to show my face but this time with these little ones, I feel more confident.

divider.png.

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  

Good job, you're taking care good of those plants, and they seems healthy. Aww girl, I have tomatoes, basils, spring onions and Vietnamese mints in the garden too, lol, they're doing pretty well now.

We use potting mixes and plants love it

IMG_20221006_140602.jpg

Same I use potting mixes as well. You should show us your garden too my dear

Có nhé nàng,tui updated garden mấy ngày trước rùi nè :)

It's funny that some are expecting spring, while at the other end of the world (here for example) it's autumn 😃 I envy you for starting the gardening season, especially for that avocado seed. I'm curious to see what's going to come out of it :)

I see you posted on your blog, instead in a community, so for gardening I'd like to suggest a few communities we have on Hive, like Hive Gardening, ecoTrain or Agricultural Mindset

Here's a guide I put together to help you learn about how communities work and why you should use them -> Communities Explained - Newbie Guide. I also put together a list of communities, which is not complete, there are much more communities on Hive, but it will help you get started.

Once you posted your post in the right community, you can then cross post it to OCD community. Here's a guide about cross posting.

Please don't delete any post with the purpose of reposting it in another community as that can be considered abuse!

Thanks @erikah for letting me know. I supposed to post it in the Hive Gardening community for the October challenge but I accidentally deleted the community :(
Yes I know, I used to envy you guys when you have spring and I have autumn and winter coming up. But I guess the beauty of it is you still can enjoy the spring time through my post and vice versa I can enjoy spring and summer time through yours. Thank you for stopping by and have a lovely day

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List