The Stratocaster is aging well

in #guitar7 months ago

I'm still positive for covid so can look forward to another few days cooped up in the bedroom. To be honest, I've quite enjoyed it so far ... that is being cooped up, not the covid. It has been rather marvellous having lots of time to kill, which means doing things I wouldn't normally make time to do.

I've read, watched movies, studied various things and now have a new roommate.

I've been promising myself for bloody ages that I'll get back to practicing guitar and make the odd recording. I've got as far as getting my recording rig setup which is all connected to my iMac. No such progress on the practicing front.

IMG_1920.jpg

It has hit me how well my made in Mexico (MiM) Fender Stratocaster has aged. The MiM bit just means it's a budget model compared to the American made models. There are a few subtle differences.

There is generally a charm with older guitars as their looks change as the materials age. This doesn't happen so often with newer guitars due to the evolution of paints and lacquers used. My Standard model here (above) was made in March 2013. You can see the difference compared to when purchased new (below).

IMG_1922.JPG

I gather it's UV light that ages guitars, just like it does to us. I've never kept it protected in a case so that likely has something to do with it. It'll no doubt look odd when that Underground sticker finally peels off!

Sort:  

I’ve got to restring my old epiphone at some point. It’s gathering dust and I’d love to give it a new lease of life.

I've had a few Epiphone's in my time and have regretted not keeping any of them! I hope you restring and release it soon 🙂.

I've had loads of fun tinkering on and off today.

That’s it, two sets of strings ordered, so that I’ve got some backups, new strap and a stand!

I was looking up my old photos to see if that one came to my house for the 'Blissner' meetup, but it looks like you just bought some others. Do you still have those? I wonder how Dave Mac is doing these days. He made some nice guitars. We each have a Benford and I know Steve is still building.

Guitars

My first electric was a Strat by Vantage that is long gone. I've never owned a Fender. Yours has matured nicely. I'm not really into the 'relic' thing. My guitars have gained some wear, but it's all natural.

I hope you get over the COVID soon. I had it a while back and it's not nice. Most people don't seem to take any precautions now.

Have fun practicing. I don't play much guitar these days apart from the pub sessions. It's all about drums now, but I hope to retain some picking skills.

!PIZZA

I've still got the Bliss guitar and of course my Benford. That looks like my old Vester Stage Stratocaster copy - I don't have that any more.

I've been reminded of how therapeutic it can all be. I've been using an old BOSS 4 track digital recorder that I got ages and ages ago. It has a few effects on it. Will download the instructions soon and see if I can work out putting a little something together for the fun of it.

Hi @stav,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@steevc(1/10) tipped @stav