New tool for the shop

in #guitars10 months ago

For a while now my brother has been telling me I need to build him a buffer, a full size buffer. Truth is that you can buff anything by hand, and do a pretty good job, but the elbow grease is not as plentiful once the gray hairs start to show up on the beard.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-06 at 7.50.57 PM.jpeg

I looked all around the web for some ideas, but none of the things being recommended were things I could find around here. The truth is that this was my excuse for not getting to work on the buffer, but I simply ran out of reasons to postpone it.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-06 at 7.51.02 PM.jpeg

In the end, I just recycled things I had here in the shop. An old motor from a terrible belt sander, made a pulley out of plywood, a shaft from an AC unit, with matching bearings, and of course, built a structure to hold everything together.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-06 at 7.51.51 PM.jpeg

It's ugly, but it works quite well... I'm going to call this a quick and dirty build!

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-06 at 7.51.02 PM.jpeg

One thing I did have to do, and I'm more than Ok for a one day project. I had to add weight to the base. Not only to reduce vibration, but also because when you press hard with a guitar, it moving around is not an option.

All and all a productive day I'd say

MenO

Sort:  

Nice bit of DIY. I guess it may not meet some safety regs with that exposed belt, but I trust you to be careful. At school we had to wear ties, but when do were in the workshop we had to tuck them away in case we were working on machines.

!PIZZA

I do need to put a guard on the belt... no doubt! good call

Famn Dancy! Way to DIY the tools you need to do the job you need to do.

Thanks!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Visit our Discord - Visita nuestro Discord

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@steevc(1/10) tipped @meno