When good habits break – and the exponential effort needed to rebuild them

in #habits2 years ago

Wow, it sure has been some time since my last post. And while I have not been completely absent (there’s never a break from staying up to date on ongoing discussions regarding chain development as a top witness), what started out as an intended one-week break from writing and publishing new posts, quickly turned into several months.

Starting off this year, I made it a goal to write at least 2 posts per week. And for a long time, I kept a steady flow going, making it a habit to write for an hour each evening. Hell, I even completed my first ever monthly author streak, writing a post every day throughout January.

However, I got to a point where it felt like more of a chore than something I enjoyed. And I think an important lesson about positive habit-creation lies in that, namely that it's important not to overdo it, as I'll get back to later in the article. But more than that, I’ve experienced firsthand what I knew beforehand, that getting back on track with a habit after losing momentum is much tougher than one might initially think.

A breaking habit and how to rebuild it fredrikaa hive.png

When habits first break they tend to break hard, making it significantly harder to rebuild them than it was to keep them going.


Focusing on habits

A lot of my posts this year have been about the creation of productive habits. The topic has fascinated me, as I’ve long underestimated the power of small and simple routines in not only contributing to achieving goals over time but also in reducing fatigue and improving mental focus. So I’ve gone through all the literature podcasts and public talks that I could find on the subject and made an effort not only to learn but also to incorporate the best bits and pieces most fitting to the life that I want to live.

And I’m happy to say that I’ve been successful. I now have much better habits regarding sleep. I start every day off with everything I need to get started with the day already prepared in advance, and for a while, I was even able to write quite effortlessly. Something that I had previously struggled with. I truly had great momentum in everything that I did. Until I took a break from writing that is…

The added effort of regaining momentum

We humans are hardwired to think linearly and to expect to see a direct cause and effect. If I say that I was doing a side hustle that made me $10 daily for three months, then stopped for one week, then the average assumption most people would make is that it cost me $70 in the opportunity cost of not doing what netted me $10 a day for seven days. However, this fails to recognize what makes habits so powerful in the first place: The diminishing required effort of performing a task, often combined with a growing value of performing it. Writing a post takes X amounts of effort initially. Then, as it becomes a habit, it becomes easier and easier to the point where it is just a routine. This, however, requires consistency. If you stop performing the task, then the brain starts to rewire itself to no longer associate the time of the day when you used to write with writing or sensing the same level of motivation to do so.

It’s like those good old play yard spinning wheels we used to play with as children. Big and heavy as they could be, it would take a lot of combined effort of several kids pushing and hurling their weight into the grips in order to get it moving. Once spinning, however, it only took a small kick against the ground every now and then to keep it going.
Habits are very similar. In the beginning, it takes a lot of effort to implement change in one’s life or to get started with and successfully implement a new routine. The cost-to-benefit ratio may not seem much worth it, as the effort seems large and unpleasant while the benefits are hardly noticed, if at all. However, as soon as one has managed to stick with it for a short while and built momentum, it becomes easy, if not completely automatic.

How to regain momentum

It can be quite frustrating to experience the struggle of doing what was once seen as easy. For me, I really want to get back into writing two articles per day and think I have learned my lesson in not overdoing it. So how can one regain momentum? It’s very simple. Do the easiest fraction of the task that you know for sure that you’re capable of doing at the desired frequency until you’re ready to up the level. If you’re looking to get back into running, then start by simply placing your running shoes at your door step every day that you intend to run so that you’re ready to go. Then start to make sure you take them on and get out of the house every day at the desired time but proceed only to run if you feel like it.

Do not make the mistake of demanding of yourself that you will complete the whole task at the desired level of quality right from the start. It will most often result in you instead doing nothing, as you don’t feel like you’re able to complete your goal, and then get frustrated with yourself. Break it down, do what you know you can do, and then do more. In my case, I will begin by simply making sure that I am away from distractions during the time of the day where I intend to be writing. That’s the first natural step anyway in accomplishing quality writing. Then, if I feel like it, I will write down some ideas for posts that I may or may not write in the future. Perhaps add some bullet points to them. But at no point will I demand of myself that I write a full blog post each day.

Having done this successfully many times in the past, I know the power of momentum. Once you start to get into the habit of being at the right place at the right time with the right mindset, while experiencing that you are able to do what you set yourself out to do, it will eventually become easier and easier until it is back to being a routine.

So my plan now is to do a few “low effort” posts sharing experiences from my summer holiday (which was freaking cool) in my next couple of posts. So that I am not placing a big obstacle in front of me that demands too much time and focus (which some posts that I write always do need). So I look forward to getting going again, and see how it goes :).

How about you? Have you ever lost momentum after having stuck with a positive habit for a while? If so, what did you do to get back on track and regain it?

Let me know in the comments below!

Sort:  

Your post was very useful to me, since I work hard every day on building habits but I’m not always successful, since I place hard goals to achieve, and at the end I’m not capable on doing anything. But it’s true, I should have in mind the easiest step on my way to reach what I want, and then, work on it slowly.

Thanks a lot for this!!

I think goals are only useful as far as they inform what strategies and daily tasks to perform. When goals are big, they can often take focus away from the small efforts that in the end are what accomplish goals over time. Use goals for planning steps, then focus on making sure each step are done properly :)

I had a successful streak of writing and posting for 7 months straight, but then it came to an end, thanks to some extra work load and stress. Right now I'm in the same situation, trying to get back into that fully focused form.

But it's taking more time than I thought it would, so I'm just taking it slow and steady for now, starting small and simple.

I've also been surprised at the time and effort needed to get back into what was once a walk in the park. I think that knowledge now motivates me more than anything to keep going on what I'm doing.

As mentioned, I just think we need to make sure that we begin by doing what we know we're capable of, as in the beginning getting back into a routine is more important than doing the work itself.

as in the beginning getting back into a routine is more important than doing the work itself.

Absolutely, that's really the best way to start. 🥃

Have you ever lost momentum after having stuck with a positive habit for a while?

Too many times. In May I did a daily walking challenge using the Actifit app on an alt account. I was doing so well I continued into June. Then the scorching triple-digit heat arrived and it was challenging to stick with my evening walks. An attempt at shifting waking to the morning was short lived. So I stopped. I've tried to restart my daily walking streak several times since them, but wind up with only 2-3 days with large gaps in-between.

I'm hoping that once the weather cools a bit I will be inspired to restart and stick with the daily walks. The fact is #Move2Earn is rewarding both physically and monetarily. For me not to walk daily is costing me better health and potential rewards.

When trying to restart, did you aim for walking the same distances that you used to back when you had a streak going?

I had found a good route that got me to at least 5K steps during my walk. Which I have done since then. On days the weather is extra hot and challenging I will alternate the route to more shady streets and will try to get between 2500-4000 steps in. I figure any walk is better than no walk. I celebrate getting out to move at all. I always feel better afterwards.

Good to see you’re still here :) I had a similar drop in sports after Covid earlier this year. I literally did my first +250km ride this year and tested positive the day after. Once I was recovered my condition was gone and had ti start from scratch again. This was very demotivating and lead me to not getting going again. I decided to just take some short rides with no pressure. Before I knew it, I was back in training mode.

This past weekend I rode cumulatively more than 250km 👌

Hey! Good to see you around too :).

Covid gave me a rough one a year and a half ago when I got the British variant before vaccines were available... But now it's as if nothing happened, thankfully.

Good luck on your comeback!

That's great! It seems I'm also one of the lucky people with no long-term effects. Signed up for a 160k ride in two weeks :p

The hardest part is to start a habit because it requires self-discipline. It helps when you set simple goal each and level up as time goes by.

Congratulations @fredrikaa! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What a good friend to see you here again in #Hive, yes it is true your break of several days was months. Seeing him again is a pleasure and I am also happy to know that he is having the success he is looking for. Greetings and happy month of August

Congratulations @fredrikaa! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 1000 HP on Hive Power Up Day and got the biggest Power-Bee!
See you at the next Power Up day to see if you will repeat this feat.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!