You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pitch your best Hive Idea: FREE HIVE. Participate in the first Hive Online Hackathon without being a programmer!

in #hackathon4 years ago

I also posted this idea in the comments of the Hive Hackathon post created by @themarkymark.

I dunno who (or if anyone) needs to see this but I had an idea a while back on the old blockchain to make a Linux distribution centered around utilizing the blockchain. In this case it would be a 'Hive Linux Live CD' with an installation option.

What I was originally thinking was to add all the various tools that make using the blockchain easy from an end user perspective and perhaps adding in a few things that would help developers to one degree or another. Tools like the Brave browser, Hivesigner for desktop, built-in shortcuts for Dapps and per-configured ICE SSB instances for dApps like PeakD, Hiveblocks, Hive-Engine, Blocktrades etcetra.

I did make a few Live CDs for the old blockchain and although they worked I rapidly realized that doing much of what I wanted to include in the distribution was beyond my skill level and I could not find the resources to learn to do the things that I wanted to do so I eventually stopped working on the project after the third version.

Anyway, I hope that someone finds the inspiration to do something like this and I think that it would be very helpful to new users if they could just 'spin up' a Linux distro and have all the tools for utilizing Hive at their fingertips.

Sort:  

@jacobpeacock Having a Distro with Hive included in the package from default would be awesome. If it was stable and done well I could see it gaining popularity, also the easier it is for nodes to open up even better perhaps a "Witness" in a box type option as well. More users with Hive on servers/boxes is obviously more decentralization so sounds great :)

I was thinking more for just dApps, frontends and tools. Any sort of node is a whole different beast!

The main advantage is having a sort of 'unified' interface where all the necessities are ready to go.