Ok... late night, and got 🤬HACKED! But I am safe...

in #hacked3 years ago (edited)

I have just been hacked on my crypto.com VISA card... luckily I kept my usual protections (low balance) in order for attackers to never get anything but just under a few dollars.

Although, this was quite of an experience. It took less than 24 hours to resolve and that was just mainly because I had to sleep and work... otherwise, I would reckon they would do it in less time. The team must be bigger by now, and they even had people who could do my native language (Portuguese).

Recomendations

When you get hacked, the first thing you should try to do is to actually take evidence of all the situations. Just in case those get deleted!

Then lock everything you can (if you can do this at the same time you take evidence, better, but evidence that goes away, is more important in my view).

Avoid trying to "experiment" during this time. Even if you really look forward for it. It will/can just complicate things.

The hack!

So, effectively someone figured a way to steal authorizations within new Zealand VISA or got my details withing another provider that didn't understand how to protect themselves. Or in the worst-case scenario, this was all Singapore's fault that issues my card and might not have taken the right diligence to protect external customers.

The procedure was to use a google account to charge me a service. Being a Google service makes it so much easier because all they need is credit details, nothing else. No country or name confirmation. Just the right numbers, codes, done!

Crypto is the future!

So, this proves how unreliable VISA process is (even me knowing exactly how the PCI process should be done, step by step, and knowing also that some countries/entities don't follow it to the letter and they still find ways to have approval from VISA) and how important is for all of us to keep understanding about who owns what when transacting.

Your keys or not your money right? 😎 Keep in mind Crypto is here surviving all the government pressures for a reason.

It works! Lamely, but still works.

In this case, VISA reverted the transactions and my card got re-issued, but now I am even more reluctant to use the card, at least under big transactions. It was literally a few minutes (15 to 20) for them to deplete a few dollars. using 5 and 1 USD dollar transactions.

Caution...

I know they could potentially be seeing this post and I am aware that it will just give them more information. But I also want to do something else they might not know. So I will take my chances =)

Play with fire, and get burned? yep... I know that. I have a burned guy already, remember... @forkyishere is on the chase for these guys!


🖐️HIVE5's!

Have fun, good luck on all the gaming, and lots of teaching "how to play" to new players.

🤝 Twitter - @forkyishere 😈 (@forykw dark side)

For #news about the #HIVE blockchain, and other stuff. I am following all users!

In addition, if you are looking for a nice place to either reach out, share or just have a great time, come along to @atexoras.pub gatherings. We welcome everyone on the HIVE blockchain.

👉 Vote for Witnesses

@forykw is running 😎 @atexoras.witness

Hive-Engine here (voting uses staked WORKERBEE)
Hive here (voting uses staked HIVE)


🐝 Hive Blockchain Games 🎮

YearTitlePost link (👆4+ℹ️nfo)
2021The ecosystem is expanding!
(credit @solymi)
2020The power of having fun!
(credit @doze)

💳 Cryptocurrency Cards

Crypto.com 😎😍💞Crypterium (forgot)TenX (retired)Revolut (wen?)Wirex (fuckdup)

by @forykw

Sort:  

Damn. What bad luck. I have been using my card for over a year without a single problem.

Oh me too... even more than 1 year... but they have been having some problems lately with the old cards (mine was one of them), so hopefully will not happen again.

Just to be sure, I will keep being cautious... VISA is not crypto.

Damn, glad you had 2fa enable.

This is the card!!! not the account, VISA cards don't have 2fa...

Sorry for my ignorance, I haven't had a bank account in over a year now and never owned a visa.

I was considering getting one of these cards but will be more cautious before I do

People just need to realize that its a normal credit/debit card using VISA... and usually other providers of VISA have insurance and can revert transactions via banks.

In the case of Crypto.com VISA card, the same applies. There might be some differences on the conditions when you accept using it, but its all mostly the same.

The app itself, I never had problems with it. If they once day get hacked at that level, will be their doom. Its like a centralized exchange effectively. The ONLY way for you to hold to your crypto, is to have the private keys. Period.

=) although if you use little amounts to play with these things, it's quite fun. Even when these events happen. Because you get to know a bit more of the process around them.

And frankly using a non-secure method to play with crypto, is quite hilarious =) One day we will have true crypto cards ... not sure how, but we will.

Most likely things will work transparently where consumer and merchant transact in fiat, while the settlement happens in crypto in the background. The Strike app does this with Lightning BTC. As the buy and sell price are the same, it’s a non-taxable event. Both ends transact in fiat terms.

In this way, it saves a step if the consumer pays in crypto. The payment rail is already there for instant settlement. Thus, credit card issuer merely needs to convert to fiat at the merchant end.

It makes more sense with fast and cheap coins like HIVE, XRP, XLM, and Dash.

Damn glad it wasn't too much, lost a fair amount of my crypto (most of it) not too long ago through my own stupidity so I can imagine even a small amount stings. I found the dreaded B WORDS (binance) card service ok, haven't tried crypto.com.

Good luck burning the bastards.

I actually very happy for the response time and resolution. New card already underway.

Its good you share your experience here.I am also using crypto.com visa card and i couldn't know how it could be vulnerable for hacking.I worried now not to keep my btc in that wallet .

What was hacked was the visa card. Not my wallet.

I am still waiting for my crypto.com card. It's probably three weeks now since I gut the notification that it was issued. I have the virtual one, but not the physical.

Yeah, it took quite a good time on the first time. But afterwords is pretty 🤩

Congratulations @forykw! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 85000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 86000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

That sucks mate! I'm still waiting for my card. It's been almost 3 months since I completed the application...

So, were the hackers able to access your crypto? I've been using the Crypto.com app for a while now. The main reason I applied for the card was my understanding that you could pay for things with crypto using it. Perhaps I misunderstood

VISA card! only... VISA cards can be scanned, and any retailer where you use your card can store your credit card detail and send them to anyone else... or even sell them... or an hacker can introduce code on other apps you use to steal the same things. VISA is just a process... if you know how it works, you know how to break it.

Thanks for clearing that up. I'm glad you had the dodgy charges reversed. I don't know how the system works, thanks for the insight. So is it even possible to pay with crypto using the crypto.com card?

You move crypto to the crypto.com wallet (many available) and then you load the card with some of them (not all). ETH is one of them... for example.

The crypto you load is converted to the currency of your card. In my case Singapore Dollars, and then I can spend it just like a credit card.

Okay, cool. That's great to know! Thanks

I usually know a lot about the stuff I post, so, if you see something about me blurping... and you have questions, don't hesitate. I will eventually answer.

Well that's kind of you. Been good to talk to someone that's actually used the service

Blurps away!

I think I saw your post on Reddit.

I too have been keeping a low balance on my card for that reason. As a daily driver card, I figure it’s a matter of time before some numpty steals the info. I only keep $100 topped up. This covers daily expenses and the occasional surprise bill. If I need to spend more, I top up just prior.

We’re they able to issue a virtual card while you wait for a new physical card?

Didn't realize there was a virtual card thing... is it on the app?

They swapped the card already, so the old balance is not even yet on the new card but all I see on the app is the new card.

Virtual cards may possibly only be available in some markets.

yeah... not sure if Singapore (where my card is from) has those. But thanks. Now I knew they exist also for Crypto.com.

I think I saw your post on Reddit.

You mean a very very old post... right?

I saw one recently. Maybe somebody else had a similar problem. It's probably little consolation that you're not alone in the matter.

I don't really worry about this to be honest. It was not something I was not prepared to deal with. But I am not sure about others and hence the post.

PIZZA! PIZZA!
@forykw! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@forykw(1/20) tipped @pardinus (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

That's one of the reasons why I don't use the card online. And I still can't understand how they don't develp virtual cards, as Revolut and other services have, so we don't have to use the actual card number online. It should be the norm nowadays. Glad you could solve everything!

Someone told me they do have virtual cards... but apparently might depend on the country.

They don't. What they call "virtual card" is basically a copy of your card number on the app; so for me, a joke. There's no way to create them.

Nice to know that... when my dad got his, I don't remember him getting that option.

Thanks for the info!

!PIZZA and !BEER

Anytime! ;)

Vais ao @hivefest?

Vou tentar ir! Espero que um dia o possa fazer presencialmente! A ver se juntamos uma crew portuguesa. ;)