Saucy Naked Ujeqe Sandwich

in Club of Sandwicheslast year (edited)

Steamed bread traditionally was made in many African countries because there were no ovens in the rural areas. Bread dough was placed in a container inside a big pot of water and steamed for approximately two hours.
Not having an oven, and no space to make an open fire is no deterrent for city dwellers.

Our housekeeper Cynthia now has an oven but making steamed bread, or Ujeqe, is so steeped in her culture, and so delicious as well, that she still makes it.

Her Gogo (Grandma) also used to make steamed bread over a fire in their rural family homestead, but when her own mother moved to the city to find work, Ujeqe was steamed inside a plastic shopping bag - yes you heard right - in a deep pot of water on a primus stove.
Plastic shopping bags are still used by city dwellers for steaming Ujeqe.

We know that oven-baked bread creates a crusty loaf, but steaming bread dough gives it a soft, glossy, and thin crust with an airy but firm texture inside, really delicious.

Cynthia is a very kind and happy soul, very intuitive as well, and knows just what a tough year-end and start to the new year it has been for us.

20221215_164128.jpg

When she arrived at work on Thursday, she wanted to spoil us and make Ujeqe, and soon had bread dough ingredients out - white and brown flour, salt, yeast, lukewarm water, and sugar. Ujeqe is a slightly sweet bread, but knowing hubby is a diabetic, she used a little less sugar than normal.

She kneaded the dough till it was smooth and elastic, covered the bowl, and left the dough to rise till double in size.
dough.jpg

I was not too keen on the idea of a plastic bag, although she's used that before; no difference to the flavour, but I personally don't think using a plastic bag is a healthy way of steaming anything!
I have a steaming bowl that came with my AMC pots which I bought around 40 years ago - yes they really last a lifetime - so Cyntia used that for the Ujeqe, buttering it well so it would not stick.

Steming.jpg

It amazes me that the bread crust would turn a light brown just from steaming. This steamed bread's crust is soft and easy to slice.

20230126_112901.jpg

20230126_121121.jpg

20230127_131616.jpg

Now for the easiest sandwich ever - I made spicy beans by frying onions in jeera seeds, adding a can of broad beans and baked beans, and lastly turmeric and a medium hot masala.

My lazy spicy beans were going to be the sandwich filling; or rather the topping, and it was left totally naked, with nothing to cover it.

20230127_132258.jpg

This was a deliciously spicy and saucy sandwich, but there was enough Ujeqe left over to mop up the sauce.

We are truly blessed to have a special employee like Cynthia who has become part of the family - a gift from heaven I believe!
She would not take any of the bread home, it was her gift of love to us!

Heart page break.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


SB_theMenu_Banner.png

Come and join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg

Artwork by @artywink
SBC Banner hive.png
Banner by mondoshawan

Sort:  

Good heavens, that looks delicious! I do love bread! Incredible how that crust turned out. You'd think it would look soggy. Not at all!

 last year  

Hi @clairemobey, I was also surprised the first time I saw that, especially when she made it in a plastic bag. I really expected to see a kind of dumpling but as you see it has a proper brown crust, although soft. She lets it sit on a rack for a bit to 'dry' the crust a bit before wrapping it in a special bread cloth I use.
Hope you're all well down in Cape Town 🤗

I loved your steaming bowl! That's amazing! Do you remember those steaming thingies made from stainless steel that opened and closed like flower petals? I'll see if I can find a pic. My granny had one.

 last year  

I remember those but did not inherit one😉 My gran used to make a steamed 'doekpoeding', really delicious steamed in a flour cloth bag.

that doekpoeding sounds enticing! I'm also not sure about the plastic bag 🤣 I'm so glad you remember that steamer thingy I was talking about. most people look at me like I'm crazy when I try to explain it to them. I used to love playing with it when I was little.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lizelle ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It looks very delicious

Oky so when can I come to visit to taste this nice steamed bread.? This looks very delicious. There's nothing better than nice fresh bread and butter. Yummy. Xxx

 last year  

Ha, that is some awesomeness. Definitely going to try to steam a bread. Never thought about this way of making bread, too stuck with ovens here.

Wow does that look heavenly. I've never steamed bread. I think today is the day yes!! I'm inspired thanks to you and Cynthia. The beans look zesty and scrumptious as well.😋

Thanks to Cynthia! I never tried steamed bread 🍞 it's so nice to know new cultures through the cuisine and the recipe ❤️

Yummy, I love steam bread, it taste like cake.
You're lucky to have Cynthia, she's awesome.
Thanks my friend for sharing.

I was fascinated with this steamed bread idea!!!! I researched it and I can't wait to make it, you have shared some wonderful cultural references, I appreciate it!!!!