Amazing bees

IMG_8651.jpg
Hi all!
Today I met this amazing creature. I stopped to say thank you. My mother once said that humanity cannot survive without bees. I did not think about the reasons for this statement, simply accepting it as an axiom. Later, when I already had my garden, I understood and appreciated the huge role of bees and other insects that pollinate plants. They are what enable us to harvest.
In addition, the swarm of bees is an amazing system, coherent and working like a Swiss watch mechanism.
And finally, bees provide us with honey, which is not only tasty, but also has healing properties. And by the way, did you know that honey doesn't spoil?
IMG_8652.jpg

IMG_8654.jpg

IMG_8655.jpg

Sort:  

Well, in the first (and second) pic there isn't a bee but a hover fly (family Syrphidae).

The species should be Eristalis tenax (just check the pattern on its back).

You may learn more about the differences between flies (includig hover flies) and bees here.
For example bees (belonging to the order Hymenoptera) always have four wings, while flies belonging to the order Diptera) have only two wings plus halteres.

Thanks for your comment! Now that I've compared them, I can really see the difference...

You are welcome! :)

Agree 100%!!! According to Albert Einstein, the world won’t last beyond 4 days if all bees are gone.