ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE REVIEW ; MY TAKE

The English Premier League has just concluded, and I can say it was an interesting season. Some of the teams I expected to perform well were below average, and those I thought were going to be average shocked me with their performances.
I will be talking about the five teams that I was really impressed by this season and those that really let me down.

football-3575426_1280.jpg

Source

Let us begin with those who really underperformed this season.

1.Manchester United really underperformed this season. I had high hopes for this team. I feel the quality of the players on the team is average, and this is a problem. The style of football the coach wants to play does fit with the quality of players he has at his disposal. Manchester United needs a total overhaul. A lot of things are wrong with this team, and I hope they can get it right. I feel there is a lot going on behind the scenes that is affecting the team.

2.Brighton is a team I love watching because they play a beautiful brand of football. What I can say about them now is that playing in a European competition affected them, taking into consideration the size of their squad. Well, I expected them to go for a top-five finish this season. I feel the need for a bigger pool of players, and they need to stop selling their quality players.

3.Nottingham Forest were such a disappointment in the just-concluded season. I was not expecting them to be fighting for survival but rather for a top-ten finish. I could understand they had to deal with injuries this season. I think they need to sell a lot of their players and buy above average players who can help them challenge for silverware. Forest is a historic club, and I would love to see them back in European competitions.

4.Tottenham might have finished in the top five, but for me, it was a disappointing season. The lack of consistency is alarming, and I feel the management of the club lacks the desire to compete for honors. It seems they are satisfied with playing in Europe one season and not in the next. With the quality of players they have, a top-four finish is the least I expected from Spurs. To me, it seems the team is more concerned about the performance of their North London rivals than winning a trophy.

5.Chelsea signed a lot of players, and I thought with the amount spent on transfers, the team would be contesting for a top-four finish. But it's quite shocking that, with the pool of players at their disposal, it took them the whole season to connect. Well, I won't blame the players in totality for their poor performance; for me, the coach could have looked for a formation suitable for the players at his disposal. The team struggled to interpret the instructions given and looked lost because of the tactics deployed. But we later saw an improvement in the last few games. I hope Chelsea will try to add a few signings to their squad. I see lots of people talking about signing a new striker, but to me, I feel they need defenders.

I hope to continue my review of last season by discussing the teams that performed well.

Sort:  

Yeehaw! Your post sure does paint a vivid picture of the ups and downs in the Premier League. Let's lasso up those disappointments and steer 'em towards positive changes for the next season. Keep that cowboy spirit high and hopeful, partner!

Thanks for your comment, I hope next season would be great.

Gather 'round, y'all! Stories shared by the campfire kindle warmth in our souls. May this midweek be a stepping stone to brighter tomorrows, where our tales bloom like wildflowers in spring. Here's to the next season, filled with promise and joy! Happy trails!

You really hit the nail on the head with your analysis, Manchester United has alot of unresolved issues behind the scene just like you pointed out and some players are not committed while as for Chelsea I think the coach should take the bulk of the blame.