Social Media Challenge || Theme: Splinterlands 6 Year Anniversary!

in 1UP16 days ago

image.png


Hi, everyone. Welcome to my post. In the Social Media Challenge, I will discuss anything about SPLINTERLANDS, it can be about cards, abilities, rulesets, battle reviews, End of Season results, or my playing experience.

In this post, I'll recount my journey at SPLINTERLANDS, celebrating its 6th anniversary this month.

01540-AnyLine-fp16_480494238.png

6 Year Anniversary

This month, SPLINTERLANDS celebrates its 6th anniversary. SPLINTERLANDS was officially released on May 26, 2018, under the initial name Steem Monsters. STEEM MONSTERS was originally released on the STEEM Blockchain, but 2 years later (2020), it migrated to the HIVE Blockchain until now. The name change from STEEM Monsters to SPLINTERLANDS happened a year earlier, or more precisely April 27, 2019.

For a more complete history of SPLINTERLANDS from the beginning of its release until now (along with their achievements), you can see here

01540-AnyLine-fp16_480494238.png

Discovery of Splinterlands

I only discovered SPLINTERLANDS in 2021 when I first tried to get to know Cryptocurrency. At the beginning of the year, I learned about Cryptocurrency when I was looking for ways to make money from home online. I learned about how to get Cryptocurrency for free through Airdrops and Faucets, but I didn't take it seriously. Because I was too greedy, I almost spent all my savings to buy some Meme Coins because I got FOMO and hoped for instant profit.

After spending almost all of my savings, I tried to find a way to return the lost money by exploring more about Cryptocurrency and Blockchain. In early June, I was introduced to the term Play2Earn / Play to Earn where you can make money just by playing games, but the difference is that we will be paid with Cryptocurrency. The first game I knew was Axie Infinity from the Ethereum network. To be able to play this game, we are required to have a large capital (because at that time, Axie Infinity was trending). However, there is another way to be able to play it without spending large capital, namely by jockeying other people's accounts with an agreed division. To be able to get other people's accounts that can be played requires a long queuing process so I am looking for other alternatives that I can play myself with little capital.

At the end of June 2021, I discovered SPLINTERLANDS. However, at that time I only registered and did the Tutorial because to play and get Rewards (Cards and In-game Currency) we were required to pay $10. It wasn't much, but for me who had spent almost all of my savings, it was quite a lot and I didn't want to be cheated again.

So the following month (July) I did a little research on SPLINTERLANDS and looked for alternatives that might be better or even free to play without spending a dime. And in early August (or maybe late July) I paid $10 to get the Summoner Spellbook and play in full mode.

01540-AnyLine-fp16_480494238.png

Duration of Participation

It has been about 3 years since I first played SPLINTERLANDS, I still feel at home playing this game with all the changes (Both in the game and everything outside the game that still affects the game). When I first started playing, I only spent about 1 hour per day because at that time SPLINTERLANDS implemented Daily Quest, so when I had completed it, I would stop playing.

But since the old Daily Quest was replaced with the new one (where players are free to play without any restrictions), I can spend about 2 to 4 hours per day. But since I didn't have my cards, I had to rent them and that kept me from playing SPLINTERLANDS every day.

01540-AnyLine-fp16_480494238.png

Accomplishments and Upcoming Goals

My best record to date is that I played in DIAMOND II LEAGUE and had a level 3 Legendary Card even though during the time I played, I rarely bought cards and relied on cards or decks that I borrowed from third parties. Currently, I am in SILVER II LEAGUE (2 levels below DIAMOND LEAGUE) and there are problems with the server at the third party (NFTY Arcade). That makes me have to spend more money if I want to play using a full deck.

My next goal is to return to playing in a higher league (at least GOLD I) so that I can get bigger rewards. But that will take some time because one of the third parties (NFTY Arcade) where I often borrow decks from, is still in Maintenance Mode. If only their servers were back to normal, I could play the game every day. But for now, I can only play a few days per season (12-18 days).

01540-AnyLine-fp16_480494238.png

Advice for Beginners

For new players (or those who haven't joined yet) you should learn about the game mechanics first before buying or renting cards. In this new system, players are given the freedom to use cards with the maximum level even from the BRONZE LEAGUE. Whereas in the old system, each League (NOVICE, BRONZE, SILVER, GOLD, DIAMOND, CHAMPION) had a level limit on the cards that could be used. This made high-level cards more expensive to rent because there were fewer of them (high demand).

You can rely on Social Media to find out about how the game works or how to fight the players who have been playing this game for a long time. Don't forget to use hashtags like #splinterlands and #play2earn to facilitate your search.

01540-AnyLine-fp16_480494238.png

Those are the kinds of things I discussed in this Social Media Challenge. Thank you for reading to the end and see you in other discussions in next week's Social Media Challenge.


For those of you who are curious and want to experience how fierce the battles are in the Modern League but haven't joined Splinterlands yet, you can use THIS LINK.

Link to this week's Social media Challenge (Here)

Sort:  

Are you looking for Tier 5 brawl guild? THE GUILD OF NEOXIAN looking for wild silver fray player. If you are good in that fray and interested to join then contact with our Guild Officer xawi & Also Don't Forgot to Checkout our BDVoter Daily Hive Showcase & Participate into our Daily giveaway to win various prize.

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 20% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Thanks for sharing! - @yonilkar