CRAVING: Delayed Gratification or Urgent Satisfaction? || ANTOJO: ¿Gratificación retardada o satisfacción urgente? (ENG-ESP)

in Emotions & Feelings2 years ago (edited)

copy_of_light_red_white_black_active_dynamic_workout_diet_recipes_youtube_thumbnail_2_.png

Image by LyfeFuel From Unsplash

"I love healthy stuff and junk an equal amount. Whatever I'm craving, I go for it. I'm never trying to lose weight - or gain it. I'm just being".
-Kelly Clarkson

"Me gustan las cosas sanas y la chatarra a partes iguales. Cualquier cosa que se me antoje, voy a por ella. Nunca intento perder peso, ni ganarlo. Sólo estoy siendo".
-Kelly Clarkson



Cravings, Cravings, Cravings!
Hello my loves, today is all about cravings and the likes. So I decided to quickly share some of my recent cravings and my ways of quenching them. These feelings have been persistent for a while now and I had to challenge them in this post.

¡Antojos, antojos, antojos!
Hola mis amores, hoy se trata de antojos y de los gustos. Así que decidí compartir rápidamente algunos de mis antojos recientes y mis formas de saciarlos. Estos sentimientos han sido persistentes desde hace un tiempo y tenía que desafiarlos en este post.

Hive logo line.png

What is Craving || ¿Qué es un antojo?

Hive logo line.png

Craving is a strong desire for something. It is an intense, immediate or urgent, and sometimes an abnormal desire or longing for something. Cravings can be so powerful that even trying to resist them sometimes is such a great struggle. It could also mean s strong longing for what promises gratification, pleasure, or enjoyment.

El antojo es un fuerte deseo de algo. Es un deseo o anhelo intenso, inmediato o urgente, y a veces anormal, de algo. Los antojos pueden ser tan poderosos que incluso tratar de resistirlos a veces es una gran lucha. También puede significar un fuerte anhelo de lo que promete gratificación, placer o disfrute.

sam-hojati-lw8GflbJwLc-unsplash.jpg

Image by Sam Hojati From Unsplash

An individual can crave food, attention, love, friendship, relationship, etc. However, my focus is on my recent food cravings and how I have been able to manage them since experiencing this feeling.

Una persona puede desear comida, atención, amor, amistad, relación, etc. Sin embargo, me centraré en mis recientes antojos de comida y en cómo he sido capaz de manejarlos desde que experimenté este sentimiento.

Hive logo line.png

A Quick Storytime || Una historia rápida

Hive logo line.png

It has been quite a while since I had certain sugary foods. This is due to the fact that I recently got on a journey to eat healthily and stay fit. However, I was doing perfectly fine until a few days ago.

Hace bastante tiempo que no comía ciertos alimentos azucarados. Esto se debe al hecho de que recientemente me he puesto en marcha para comer de forma saludable y mantenerme en forma. Sin embargo, lo estaba haciendo perfectamente hasta hace unos días.

A friend of mine was around my house and requested that I join him to run a few errands close to my house. Plus he suggested this was a good time to bond since we had not seen each other in quite a while.

Un amigo mío estaba por mi casa y me pidió que le acompañara a hacer unos recados cerca de mi casa. Además, me sugirió que era un buen momento para estrechar lazos ya que hacía tiempo que no nos veíamos.

I did not hesitate especially since I was not the one driving. Lately, I have come to realize that driving has suddenly become so tiring and stressful for me. I am not really sure if it is because of the condition of the road or just the impatience of road users in general. Basically, I prefer being driven lately.

No lo dudé, sobre todo porque no era yo quien conducía. Últimamente, me he dado cuenta de que conducir se ha convertido de repente en algo muy cansado y estresante para mí. No sé si es por el estado de la carretera o por la impaciencia de los usuarios en general. Básicamente, últimamente prefiero que me lleven.

elza-kurbanova-NEab1U1FfKM-unsplash.jpg

Image by Elza Kurbanova From Unsplash

Oh well, he dropped by my house and we set out to the first place where we got some new gym kits for him, and journeyed further. Our next stop was an ice cream shop, apparently, he was picking up an order for his girlfriend and I could not help but steal a quick glance at my favourite ice cream flavour.

Ah, bueno, se pasó por mi casa y nos pusimos en camino hacia el primer lugar donde conseguimos algunos kits de gimnasia nuevos para él, y seguimos viajando. Nuestra siguiente parada fue una heladería, aparentemente, estaba recogiendo un pedido para su novia y no pude evitar echar un rápido vistazo a mi sabor de helado favorito.

I was torn between delaying gratification or satisfying this urgent craving. Sadly, he convinced me against it as I had earlier told him of my recent health journey.

Me debatía entre retrasar la gratificación o satisfacer este antojo urgente. Desgraciadamente, me convenció de que no lo hiciera, ya que le había hablado de mi reciente viaje de salud.

owen-bruce-sXYqF4oR3_g-unsplash.jpg

Image by Owen Bruce From Unsplash

We moved to the next shop which was a cake shop. As soon as we got into the shop, I sighted my favourite flavour of cake. I felt chills run down my spine as I tried to remind myself that, I was not there for that reason.

Pasamos a la siguiente tienda, que era una pastelería. En cuanto entramos en la tienda, vi mi sabor favorito de pastel. Sentí un escalofrío que me recorría la espalda mientras intentaba recordarme a mí misma que no estaba allí por esa razón.

It felt like my cravings were out to get me that day. It was as though I had a war waged against me in which I needed to fight and win. Luckily for me, my friend was sensitive enough and we immediately placed the order for a birthday cake and dashed out.

Sentí como si mis antojos hubieran salido a buscarme ese día. Era como si tuviera una guerra contra mí en la que tenía que luchar y ganar. Por suerte para mí, mi amigo era lo suficientemente sensible e inmediatamente hicimos el pedido de una tarta de cumpleaños y salimos corriendo.

zlatko-duric-U4QkDQW84sg-unsplash.jpg

Image by Zlatko Duric From Unsplash

Our final stop was a fresh juice and smoothie bar. I was so pleased with this point because these were things I had craved for a while and they were definitely healthy options. I wasted no time in ordering a tropical fruit juice & a kiwi-coconut/mixed fruit smoothie.

Nuestra última parada fue un bar de zumos y batidos frescos. Me alegré mucho de este punto porque eran cosas que se me antojaban desde hacía tiempo y eran definitivamente opciones saludables. No perdí tiempo y pedí un zumo de frutas tropicales y un batido de kiwi y coco.

As soon as it touched my tongue, I instantly felt alive. It was like quenching a fire that had been burning non-stop within me. I felt so free and relieved at the same time. Plus this treat was on my friend. So it was my happy ending for the day.

En cuanto tocó mi lengua, me sentí viva al instante. Fue como apagar un fuego que había estado ardiendo sin parar dentro de mí. Me sentí tan libre y aliviada al mismo tiempo. Además, esta delicia corría a cargo de mi amigo. Así que fue mi final feliz del día.

Hive logo line.png

Delay Gratification or Satisfy Craving? || ¿Demorar la gratificación o satisfacer el antojo?

Hive logo line.png

Honestly, I am a firm believer in making sure my goals align with whatever decision I make at the end of the day. It is not always perfect or rosy. Sometimes choosing to either satisfy a craving or delay gratification can be so tough.

Sinceramente, creo firmemente en la necesidad de asegurarme de que mis objetivos se alinean con cualquier decisión que tome al final del día. No siempre es perfecto ni de color de rosa. A veces, elegir entre satisfacer un antojo o retrasar la gratificación puede ser muy difícil.

However, I have my days where I give into the cravings and throw caution to the wind but on the flip side, I am learning that if there is a greater purpose for which I need to starve that craving, then starving it is!

Sin embargo, tengo mis días en los que cedo a los antojos y tiro la cautela al viento, pero por otro lado, estoy aprendiendo que si hay un propósito mayor por el que necesito matar de hambre a ese antojo, ¡entonces es morir de hambre!

jugoslocos-i8JfQDc4Ha8-unsplash.jpg

Image by Jugoslocos From Unsplash

On this day with my friend, I had four cravings: ice cream, red velvet cake, smoothie, and fresh fruit juice. I had one goal- to maintain a healthy lifestyle, especially in regard to my diet.

Este día con mi amigo, tenía cuatro antojos: helado, pastel de terciopelo rojo, batido y zumo de fruta fresca. Tenía un objetivo: mantener un estilo de vida saludable, especialmente en lo que respecta a mi dieta.

Thankfully, I chose to delay gratification on the unhealthy options and satisfy my cravings on the healthy ones. Also, I had a friend that helped to keep me accountable even when I almost gave in.

Afortunadamente, decidí retrasar la gratificación de las opciones poco saludables y satisfacer mis antojos con las saludables. Además, tenía un amigo que me ayudaba a rendir cuentas incluso cuando casi me rendía.

Finally, I would say in everything we do, striking a balance is so key. It is completely okay to satisfy our cravings every once in a while but when the need arises for these cravings to be starved, delayed gratification is the answer.

Por último, diría que en todo lo que hacemos, es fundamental encontrar un equilibrio. Está completamente bien satisfacer nuestros antojos de vez en cuando, pero cuando surge la necesidad de que estos antojos se mueran de hambre, la gratificación retrasada es la respuesta.

pablo-merchan-montes-Orz90t6o0e4-unsplash.jpg

Image by Pablo Merchan Montes From Unsplash


The ability to discipline yourself to delay gratification in the short term in order to enjoy greater rewards in the long term is the indispensable prerequisite for success.
-Brian Tracy

La capacidad de disciplinarse para retrasar la gratificación a corto plazo con el fin de disfrutar de mayores recompensas a largo plazo es el requisito previo indispensable para el éxito.
-Brian Tracy


Thank you all so much for your time!

Gracias a todos por su tiempo.

Sort:  

Kiwi and Coconut! I know I'll try that one day.🤤

Some people think that when we feel a craving it is precisely because our body feels that deficiency, just as it happens with thirst, the desire to drink water. Be that as it may, self-control is certainly needed, to avoid things that could harm us, either financially or in our health. We are happy to see you resolved and achieving your goals. 💯

Watch out for that friend next time @peaq !🤣

Kiwi and Coconut! I know I'll try that one day.🤤

It actually tastes too good.
I truly recommend you try it.

Some people think that when we feel a craving it is precisely because our body feels that deficiency, just as it happens with thirst, the desire to drink water.

Yeah, they may be on to something but it might not be the case always.

Be that as it may, self-control is certainly needed, to avoid things that could harm us, either financially or in our health.

Indeed! The place of self-control cannot be overemphasized.
It is super key in any given area of our lives.

We are happy to see you resolved and achieving your goals. 💯

Thank you so much.
I can already see positive changes but it is not easy to keep up sometimes.

Watch out for that friend next time.

I believe he meant no harm.
He even stated that he would not have invited me out if he knew I was on such a strict diet plan especially given the places he planned to go to.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @penueld.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks a bunch P!