You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adding A Block Feature To Hive? Freedom of Association Goes Hand in Hand with Freedom of Speech.

in Hive Improvement7 months ago

Would a block stop someone from downvoting? I believe that as long as we have downvotes (although I very rarely use them), a block should not prevent a potential downvote, otherwise it is a potential attack vector: someone blocks everyone except a circle of friends and starts posting sh*t on Hive.

Sort:  

There is no way to stop downvotes without specifically coding that into the blockchain. The block I am talking about wouldn't change the way downvotes work, no.

So the block would be at Hivemind level?

I would imagine the blocking would happen at the same level as muting, which I think is done at the blockchain level, but I'm not 100% sure. The block I am talking about it just stops people from writing comments and nothing else.