Hitchhiking to Croatia | 搭车去克罗地亚



clfpbjuby014s98sz8wyy1f6s_kohh-16.webp


clfpbjumo018qapsze7otbhuh_kohh-14.webp


clfpbjxwj0192bosz2lld5c4v_kohh-13.webp


clfpbjzby015s1ssz5ye5efll_kohh-2.webp


clfpbk1hv012m7aszao820a7p_kohh-22.webp



The following morning in Kotor, after visiting a few historic structures like the Roman Catholic Cathedral of St. Tryphon, I intended to climb to the top of the ancient walls. These walls date back to the 9th century and have been continuously expanded and changed over the ages. It is a prominent landmark in Kotor, and it looks like a mini version of the Great Wall to me. I assumed the top vantage point would provide stunning views of the bay and the mountains in the area.

However, I underestimated how scorching and dry it was going up the steep steps without any shade. I reached the halfway point, exhausted and dehydrated. After a brief struggle between being a brave, strong girl and a coward indulging in some cold drinks at a foothill cafe, I chose the latter. Then I quickly went downhill to rest. I know I gave up far too easily, but what a relief it was to be able to enjoy some cool beverage and ice cream at that moment! :)

In the afternoon, I rushed to the bus terminal, planning to catch a coach to the famous Croatian city of Dubrovnik, but it turned out that there were no coaches departing that day in that direction. Later, I discovered that the timetable I had earlier looked at was for the peak season rather than the off-season. There was also no other public transportation available.

The problem was that I had already reserved an airbnb room in Dubrovnik for that night... Hmmm, so what should I do then? At last, I decided to give hitchhiking a shot. So I walked to the information office and borrowed a marker and a piece of A4 paper to make a sign, and then I asked where would be a good spot to wait.

After almost two hours of holding my paper sign and sweltering by the roadside, a kind truck driver from the Czech Republic picked me up. It was such a scenic ride between the beautiful mountains and the sea. What's even better, we got the golden hour too! Along the way, we chatted a little in broken German because that was the only language we could find in common. But my German was so limited that I had to rely on numerous gestures...

It was already dark when we arrived in Dubrovnik after about 2 hours of driving. We had a seafood dinner together at a local restaurant and waved goodbye to each other. I headed to my airbnb and the truck driver had to continue his journey. That was a long unforgettable day filled with fun, adventure, breathtaking views, and kindness from a stranger!



P.S. While the coastal views in Croatia are similar, the majority of the photos in this post were taken in Montenegro before I reached Croatia. After reading some comments here, I'm adding this to clear up any confusion which might be caused by my post title. :)



接着上篇在科托尔的旅行,第二天早上,我又参观了一些古建筑,比如宏伟的罗马天主教圣台丰大教堂。

沿着山体有座出名的古城墙,始建于9世纪,后来又陆续扩建,看上去有点像迷你版的长城。我本打算爬到城墙顶上,从那里俯瞰一番周围的山海港湾美景。然鹅,我完全低估了台阶的陡峭程度和没有树荫遮挡的灼热干燥程度。往上爬到一半,已经筋疲力尽口干舌燥。想着下午还要搭车去克罗地亚,我就乖乖折返下山了,跑到一家咖啡馆歇着,还是坐着喝饮料吃冰淇淋舒服呀。

下午,我走去汽车站,打算坐大巴去邻国克罗地亚的名城杜布罗夫尼克。问了一圈,结果那天并没有大巴出发去那里。我惊呆了,说好的大巴呢?后来才发现,原来我之前在旅馆看到的大巴时间表是旺季的,而淡季发车的频次和数量都大大减少。可是我已经预订了当晚在杜布罗夫尼克的民宿,如果当天赶不到那里就麻烦啦。

看了看也没有其他公共交通,最后决定试试搭便车。我跑去信息处借了纸笔,写下中转站和目的地,又去到高人建议的最优搭车点。在路边的烈日下举着那张宝贵的A4纸站了近两个小时后,终于,一位好心的捷克司机停下来。我爬上他高高的大货车,坐到旁边的副驾驶位子上。

一路上蜿蜒曲折,风光无限。一边是巍峨连绵的群山,一边是波光粼粼的亚得里亚海,又赶上夕阳西下的好时段,每个转角都是一帧别样的美景。途中,我们还用蹩脚的德语聊了一会儿,因为他不会说英语,而我当然也不会捷克语,德语是我们唯一可以讲一点的共同语言,但是我以前学的德语几乎忘光,不得不借助各种比划。

弯弯绕绕开了两个小时左右的车,等到杜布罗夫尼克的时候已经天黑黑。我们在一家餐馆吃了顿海鲜后,便挥手告别,各自上路。现在回想起来,那漫长的一天还真是充满波折和乐趣,很感激那位捷克司机的善意相助,让我安全抵达目的地。



kohh-2.jpg


kohh-3.jpg




kohh-5.jpg


kohh-7.jpg




kohh-9.jpg


kohh-10.jpg


kohh-11.jpg


kohh-12.jpg


kohh-13.jpg


kohh-14.jpg


kohh-15.jpg


kohh-16.jpg


kohh-17.jpg




kohh-18.jpg


kohh-21.jpg


kohh-22.jpg


kohh-23.jpg


kohh-24.jpg


kohh-25.jpg


kohh-26.jpg


kohh-27.jpg


kohh-28.jpg







All content by @itchyfeetdonica. Thank you for visiting!
图文 by Donica,谢谢来访!=)



For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I just wanted to say how impressed I am with your adventurous spirit and willingness to try new things. Even though you faced some challenges along the way, like the scorching heat and lack of transportation, you didn't give up and instead chose to hitchhike to your destination.

It's inspiring to see how you embraced the unexpected twists and turns of your journey and were able to find beauty and kindness in the midst of it all. The photos you shared are absolutely stunning, and I'm sure they don't do justice to the actual experience.

So keep exploring and taking on new challenges, because I have no doubt that you will continue to have amazing experiences and create unforgettable memories. And remember, even when things don't go as planned, there's always an opportunity to learn and grow from the experience.

Best of luck on your future adventures!

Aww, this is so well said. Wise words. Thank you for your encouraging and heartwarming comment! I will keep exploring and taking on new challenges indeed. :)

travelling is the thing that broadens our minds

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Kindness from a stranger goes a long way. It is nice you had fun at the end of the day.

Very true! I was grateful for that. :)

So am I. Thanks for sharing.

I have been to Croatia in the past and I really enjoyed it. You took some beautiful photographs and showed us a beautiful part of Croatia !CTP

Croatia is a beautiful country indeed, but most of the photos in my post here were taken in Montenegro. :)

I also saw a piece of Montenegro. I didn't remember it so beautiful. Thank you for the clarification. I didn't get it right, I'm not a native English speaker. !LUV

No worries. I'm not a native English speaker either... my bad that I didn't say clearly where the photos were taken.

Stunning shots from my beloved Croatia! Oh and truck drivers from the Czech Republic are the best of course! :D

Haha, remember I told you before I met many nice people from your country... most photos here were taken in Montenegro before I reached Croatia though.

I see :)

visited Kotor multiple times, never got up to that hill.
Superman, kryptonite. Me, stairs :)

😂
untitled.gif

Congratulations @itchyfeetdonica! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 120000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 130000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1830.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

@tipu curate

Thanks mate, appreciated!

I'll have some relatives visiting Croatia for 5 days at the beginning of June and I can't wait to see the places they will discover, but damn, this is so beautiful! It's always amazing discovering places that are so closely surrounded by nature <3

Yep, I was impressed by the beautiful natural sceneries on the Balkan Peninsula, and Croatia is the country there I spent the most time traveling. Wish your relatives a great trip!

Thank you! 🤗

Thank you! 🤗

Really beautiful views