Hive Open Mic 171 - "Easy On Me By Adele" Cover

in Hive Open Mic11 months ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I love it when I'm given these kinds of privilege when it comes to music... Providing a theme for other beautiful musicians to presents songs for it.

Words couldn't describe enough how much happiness I felt within me when I was announced as the spotlight artist for this week. Coming up with a theme wasn't as easy as I had thought when I saw others choosing one.

Well, I came up with a theme and I must say I love all the entries so far regarding the theme... I can't even say mine will count as amazing as the ones I've seen but at least I submitted for my own selected theme right? 😅

20230719_154357_0000.jpg
Image designed with Canva

Special thanks to @hiveopenmic for choosing me as the spotlight artist. For this week's theme, I decided to choose the theme Divorce/Separation after a long thought.

Reason for theme selected

My first thought for choosing this theme was that I was yet to see a theme like that or maybe I missed it and second thought was my family situation, the divorce situation and how it has been for us. I won't say it's a sad story to tell as it is part of my life now and I can't say my life is the worse out there.

I've always thought there is a reason for everything that happens and that doesn't exclude situations like divorce or separation so I'm choosing this theme to convince myself on that once again.

Interpretation of song choice

I chose to sing the cover of "Easy On Me" by one of my favourite artist Adele who seem to always have a song for themes like this lol. She sang this song to her son trying to explain even though unclear why she had to leave his father (her husband). If you'll read through the lyrics, she would need to give more explanations but the essence of the song is clear... There has to be a separation.

One of the reasons she stated in her song had a lot of connection to the reason mum gave me sometime ago... I was still a child, didn't had the chance to feel the world around me. I know it seem too silly for a reason to leave a family but then again, this is me seeing everything in the light of "Things happen for reasons" even if some silly reasons are given.

There are a lot more I want to say but I'm choosing not to, I hope you do enjoy my cover of the song I chose for the theme.

I tried out some new stuffs on my video and the editing, I'll appreciate your feedbacks on that so I'd know if I should keep exploring or give it a rest lol. Adding subtitles too, I hope to get some of us sing along hehe.

Thanks to all who have been a great support to my singing journey here on Hive either by viewing or supporting with votes and comments, it's very much appreciated. Enjoy the cover!!!

Here is the song lyrics source

20230102_181802_0000.jpg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

So beautiful song that you are bringing us, and your singing is superb. Somehow this song makes me happy when I hear it on the radio (and it happens when on Sundays I drive home from my gig) because it is exquisite 😇

Haha that is a good interpretation of the song too, happy!
I've always taken it to be a sad one, maybe because I let the lyrics get to me whenever I listened.

I appreciate you stopping by 😊

Well, the song is sad but very beautiful. It gives pleasure to our hearing and soul... That is why I like to hear it 😇

Couldn't agree more with you on that haha

Nor be small creativity you dey do oo, I love it baby girl, hehe. I so much enjoyed your cover. I'm thinking of doing one of Adele's song too, I hope I get to submit an entry because I love your theme!!! 😍

Awww she's finally here 🤗🥰
Thanks my love

I hope so too, can't wait to hear my baby sis sing again 😃🤗❤️

Babe
This is out of this world

The performance is topnotch I must say
Mehn I'm feeling the chills the vibes, the attitude, the song is just giving.....

Adele is an musician when it comes to music like this

I picked one of her song too
Someone like you

Go girlie, the stage is yours and this week is yours as well

Haha see me smiling so happily, thanks dear
Glad you love my cover that much.

Yeah, it's my week... Just a few days to my birthday too 😅

Oh really

Happy birthday in advance to you
Lovely girl

Atimes separation can be an answer to some issues in a family, although it's usually a tough decision to handle especially if kids are already involved in a marriage

Now, unto your presentation..u are really exploring well merit with all the new editing styles, it's nice. The turning side ways to me looks cool considering the theme of the song...the position says alot about separation and divorce..I like the concept

Overall you did great with the song
Well done my whale 🐋🐳🥰🎉✅😍

You are right, separation isn't easy but it could be the better decision sometimes 🥲

Haha now see her hyping my silly tries 😅 I was beginning to think it was the worse idea using that position but not anymore thanks to you 🤗

Thanks my sweet Nkem, you deserve a big hug for all your support ❤️

Wow... Adele's songs have a supreme level of difficulty and you have done very well. You took a risk and gained a great experience and a new follower who will begin to admire your work. Bravo! 👏

Awww I'm more than honoured 🥺
I appreciate the support ❤️

OMG🥺🥺
Like, oh my God🥰
This is so so amazing.
I just switched on my data and the first message that popped up on my screen is that of my friend saying, "baby girl, you need to see @merit.ahama 's post." I had to rush here to view it. And it's real 🔥🔥🔥 as she said😊😊

My dear this is so good. You no just dey strain your voice ehn..
Keep rocking darling 🌹🌹

Awww I'm glad you got that first message, see me smiling so happily 😅

Thanks dear, let's keep singing 🤗💯

It was a pleasure to visit you and listen to you, nice voice, I really enjoyed your presentation friend! Greetings, success and blessings! 😍❤️🙏

Thanks for listening 🤗

Your singing technique is quite beautiful.
Are you taking any vocal class?
Or do you follow the afri vocal insitute?
This is a well-done cover jare gee.
Thanks for your support the other day, I really appreciate it.

Coming from you, I'm honoured Boss 😁
No vocal classes yet o
Maybe I'll check that out.

Thanks for stopping by to listen 😊
And yeah, you're welcome... Glad I could do that little.

Yeah you should do well to follow afri vocal institute.
I'm proud of you maami!

I've been in hive for two years now and I haven't had the opportunity to listen to you and I'm in love with your voice, you have good technique and also good taste in choosing your theme for this week. beautiful.

Awww we've both been on Hive for two years hehe
It's an honour to have you listen to me today, thanks for the beautiful comment 😊

Hi Merit, this was amazing...congrats on being spotlight artiste for the week. You did a great job performing this song, it's really not an easy song to sing. Adele is an incredible singer, and you did great covering this song, your tone is so 😍... bravo 👏.

Haha thanks @sleemfit I appreciate your nice words and compliment 😊

Anytime dearie, keep being amazing 😍.

This is beautiful Merit, I love how you were able to hit those notes well, it gives me joy.
The songs is a very sad song no doubt, now I feel like crying🥲

🥲🥲
Let's not cry, cry won't change anything but smiles and joys will 😁
I like the song too hehe

Thanks Jessie 🥰

I must say i feel so touched by your story and your presentation is so fantastic. You made a great choice of the weeks theme. Wishing you the best @merit.ahama

I'm glad to know that, thanks for watching 🙂

Greetings @merit.ahama how much feeling when interpreting, you have a beautiful voice, successes and blessings for you... It was a pleasure to listen to your interpretation..🤗🤗🤗👍🏻👍🏻

Thanks so much @yosoyla72 I appreciate your beautiful comment

Maravillosa interpretación amiga @merit.ahama, hermosa voz y afinacion. Estas canciones de esta gran artista Adele son muy exigente a nivel vocal y tú lo realizaste en forma muy natural, posees un gran talento. Fue un placer visitar tu blog. Felicidades y bendiciones🙏🤗💔🥺👏👏👏🎤💜❤️💕

Wonderful interpretation friend @merit.ahama, beautiful voice and tuning. These songs by this great artist Adele are very demanding on a vocal level and you did it very naturally, you have great talent. It was a pleasure visiting your blog. Congratulations and blessings 🙏🤗💔 👏👏👏🎤💜❤️💕

I feel so special by your comment @nellynohemi thanks so much and keep enjoying music 🤗

One thing I can't get over with is your originality and unique sweet voice, oh! Merit you amaze me😍

Keep on being your amazing self dear.

Awww thanks my Glory 🤗

Well, some families have their reasons for being separated. Yes, there has to be a separation when both partners have come to that conclusion and have thought over it deeply. No one can come in between two partners who already decided to stay apart, but then, it is their way and should deal with it. Nevertheless, it shouldn't affect children if there are any. Well, you have moved on with your life despite what has happened and already part of you also.

I love your editing on this video. You are always improving each day and thanks to this opportunity. The song, too, is so emotional but I won't cry 🙄🤣

You did well, dear 😘 ❤️

Yeah, you've said it
Not letting their own reggae to spoil my blues is how I choose to live my life 😂

Let's keep improving 🥰
Thanks sis

Merit.

This was beauuuuutiful!!!!

I now realize that I was singing this with the wrong lyrics the entire time.💀

I was about to enter your dm to rant about why you didn’t share this. But I understand now. I’m sorry about it.

The new stuff are looking great. Although the turning side ways was weird😂 Or are you trying to fool us you’re playing the instrument?😂😂😂

Haha you were singing the song wrong? 😅 Glad you know better now

About me turning side ways, it was just a silly thought that came to me so I don't go show tears on camera should in case I tear up 😂 but it didn't happen.

Glad you enjoyed the cover, no more side ways video lol

Come and see me singing with you.😅🥳 But why are you looking at that side? Are you playing a piano or it’s a new style?😅

You sang well.🥳❤️

Haha no I'm not, just trying it out lol

Thanks my love 🤗

😂 oh God I’ve been singing this all wrong. I honestly had to keep quiet and listen to the right lyrics.😅

My comrade you really do well with these songs. You can sing any genre at all. This one is one of my best so far 🤗🔥

Haha I don't want to imagine how wrongly you've been singing the song 😂

Thanks Comrade, glad you love it 😊🤗

@merit.ahama I must confess this is really incredible ❤️

While watching I was thinking it's Adele that is singing cos this has got to be the first presentation that has wowed me since this week began.

I so much love the theme you chose and seeing everyone here with their different renditions is amazing.

I love your video, the editing and all the stuffs you did there but why are you not facing us na? 🤣

And also, please which app did you use in editing it? cos I'll love to explore as well

You rock dear
Lovely rendition 🌹🌹🌹

It's an honour to know you think that highly of my cover 😊

Don't mind my silly idea, seems it isn't as cool as I had thought 😅 would have to not try it again.

I use inshot for my videos
Thanks for the beautiful comment.

I guess you didn't want to tear up while singing... I understand everything and I'm sorry about that.

Keep being amazing 🥰

Awww yeah, thanks dear 😊

God knows why he allows certain things. The earlier we learn to see things with the eyes of God the earlier we find peace of mind. It is well dear friend.

Nice entry. I love your voice and the entire atmosphere evoked by this entry. Cheers @merit.ahama

You're very right about that, finding peace of mind in the midst of challenges.

I am glad you love my entry 😊

You have an amazing voice, i love it and you did justice to the cover, Adele is personally one of my favorites, thanks for sharing

Thanks Natty 😊
Adele is loved by a lot of people, she's amazing hehe
Glad you love my cover

Our spotlight artist with a beautiful song... I'll also follow your lead so I can share a beautiful song.
I must say your voice is amazing my dear whale.

Haha looking forward to your entry then 😊

Hi sis,nice to meet you,i like your song cover,very good you voice,i hope you succses thankyou

Wow! voz me genera tan agrado. que sutileza y poder al mismo tiempo. Me encanto querida @merit.ahama :)

Wow! voice gives me so much pleasure. What subtlety and power at the same time. I love it dear @merit.ahama :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 165 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10