Orchid Update! And Cleaning Up Silver Coins

in Silver Bloggers3 months ago

IMG_2098.jpeg

We Have Another Bloom! ..

It finally bloomed.. The first bud on Pepper’s Sympathy Orchid finally opened a couple of days ago. As I am writing this this morning the second bud opened. I’ll also include a picture of that as well. It has been sometime since this orchid has last bloomed and it is nice to see some new flowers in the house. I guess it was peppers way of saying happy Valentine’s Day to us.

IMG_2080.jpeg

I hate to bring it up yet again .. BUT I will. Lol. Approximately two years ago, I decided to change the planting media from bark to lava rock. I did this, considering the advice of a friend who raises orchids, and had great success with it. It was not the case for me, and I almost lost all of my Phaleanopsis orchids. Thank goodness I was able to save the majority of them by purchasing new pots and re-planting them back into bark. We lost two work plants due to this tragedy. I currently have two that I am working on rehabilitating and hopefully we can save those as well. The others seem to be doing quite fine at this point.

IMG_2081.jpeg

Here is a shot I took this morning .. Of the two flowers that are open now. They are white, which I predicted early on. I’ve moved these orchids around so much in the past year, trying to repot them and clean them up that I almost lost track of peppers orchid plant.

IMG_2100.jpeg


And another little update .. Our Cattleya at orchid, which I mentioned, was pushing out on another set of blooms, is progressing nicely. The two flower buds have grown quite substantially in the last week. They are now about an inch outside of the flower sheath and turning a reddish color. It won’t be long before we are enjoying these flowers as well.

IMG_2097.jpeg


Hive text divider.png

Changing Directions to Silver ..


000-00-998364656.jpg

I was chatting with @silverd510 last week.. And he mentioned that some of my silver peace dollars were quite dirty. I do believe he said dirty as hell ha ha ha. And he was right they are. So I decided to take his advice and clean them up awe’re quite dirty. I do believe he said dirty as hell ha ha ha. And he was right they are. So I decided to take his advice and clean them up a bit. He explained that I could put a tiny bit of dawn, blue dish soap on my fingertips, wet it and get a little lather going, then use a microfiber towel to dry them off. He said this was fine by ANA standards, and just be gentle about it.

IMG_2092.png

We happen to use the blue version of the dawn dish soap, so that worked out. I took the coins carefully out of their capsules, and prepared to GENTLY rub some of the grime off of the coins.

Before

But first the before photos of both the 1921 and 1928 Peace Dollars..

IMG_2082_1928.JPG

Then a little Rub-A-Dub-Dub .. A little carful drying .. Then a few hand cramps later ..

After

IMG_2086.JPG

IMG_2084.JPG

That's the best I can do for now .. Without risking scratching the coins. I don't want to do that more than they already are, so maybe I should stop with the results I have. I put together a couple of before and after photos so you can get a better view of the results.

1_1708031632646.png

1_1708031593673.png

There you have it! Not as dirty anymore. I still see a little dot of something here and there, but like I said I didn't want to risk damage by rubbing too hard in one spot, plus my hand was cramping.. hehe.


What do you think? Orchids or Coins..

I think they both are look good.


Hive text divider.png


Missing Our Little Guy Pepper ..

And Baby Girl Molly Too ..

IMG_9374.JPG

IMG_0738.JPG

IMG_2346.JPG

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCC8BmeEmMLJjZ3Ay6ahoJxHJf6kMJj1D6s6e6y9ZCYsCGBEGamwwWZoQE3RHPBZQPbusnre67ooQEhxPAA5r5C2is4kNk3TTnw2ZUfjBTfVrEMGaqgSLRt.png

Hive text divider.png

HiveLogo_987437876587576432965_008.jpg

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Nice orchid and the coin looks way better. Now it just looks old which is totally fine.

Thank you and thanks for the advice.. it worked well. Still a little dirt left but didn't want to apply too much pressure, although they are not MS so they are what they are.

With your finger you don’t have to worry at all. It’s the cloth that could do damage if it’s an abrasive one. But micro fiber is fine

Wow, that is quite a difference in the coins! I will have to keep that in mind for some of the older ones that I have. I don't even have them in cases though, so I am not sure it would make much of a difference. They just sit in my safe. Is it bad I kind of want to get into orchids just to play with the little clip things? :) Looking good!

If our hair was as long as it once was, those clips would be 'funner'. lol. Looks like you keep the same hair style as me. 😆
Just figured I would try the cleaning to see if it would be worth doing it with more of them.

I was just going through some old photos the other day and I came to my "grunge" days. While I am sporting flannels again, the long hair stayed back in the 90's!

Beautiful orchid! Those coins look much prettier don't they? Great job!

Thank you and Thank you! Coins look better and I am loving the fact our Orchids are doing so well right now. I feel more zen like now that they are happy.

The coins are cleaned (the right way), and gone are the dirt of ages. Good!!!
I always used bark for the orchids!
Nice shots of the wife, yourself, and Molly!
!BBH

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (7/20)

Thank you! I took my time and was gentle cleaning them. I like the bark best. I would like to get a hold of a better mix of bark and perlite or maybe a mix with some charcoal.

The growth of your plants is going well and they are becoming more beautiful and their flowers are also very beautiful.

The Orchids are happy! 😊

Hi, you are going to have several of the white ones and the Catlella is doing very well. You can tell they miss Molly and Pepper very much. As always I follow the progress of your Orchids. You will see many blooming soon. And yes the coins needed a good cleaning. They look much nicer that way. Happy weekend 😄🤗.

Many of the white flowers! Love them. The more the better 😁
The coins are happy and look nice and I miss Molly and Pepper more than anything.. more than they miss those Orchids I bet.

🤗🥰

Looks much better, the coin that is, I wonder how they got so dirty to begin with. It's as if it spent years buried somewhere filthy and damp as a hidden cache.

Thanks! Moisture usually plays a role.. as any pirate surly knows. hehe

So this type of cleaning is ok ? !BBH

@silverd510 is well schooled in the right way to clean them due to his many years of collecting this type of coin, so I consider his advice as solid. He was the one who gave me the info. I would say if you feel uncomfortable cleaning your coins, then don't. Probably best.

Thanks for the answer I guess it would depend on what it is !BBH

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (9/50)

@bdmillergallery! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (15/50)

Loving the orchid updates! Three flowers now! And the coins turned out pretty well too!

I like writing about the orchids, but sometimes it's a stretch thinking of new things to write about when it comes to them. lol

I was just passing on the info I've read in your posts to someone this morning. Her orchid wasn't doing much, so i told her about the rocks vs what they have now and about the every 2 week bath.

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you my fellow stackers!