Reeling in the Soul

in Silver Bloggers10 months ago

100_0312.JPG
Image is my own taken with Kodak Z1012-IS

Fall is coming soon. For many that means cooler weather, leaves turning colors, holidays and more. For me, it means I can start getting out more. The cooler weather and lack of humidity makes it easier for me to breathe. It also makes for some good fishing.

I have been fishing a couple times this summer with Gav-man, but didn’t stay very long due to the heat. It just wasn’t enjoyable for me. I wasn’t able to take everything in, I wasn’t able to relax and absorb nature in all its glory.

But before I go next time, we must reline our fishing reels. It has been a while and the line is older. It has been stretched, has nicks, and just worn out. For some relining a reel is just a simple, but monotonous task that has little meaning outside of ensuring you land your next fish successfully. But I disagree.

I look at relining my fishing reels the same way as I do refreshing my soul. Now, before I lose you, I am not going to get all religious or anything. I am not sure I even believe in a soul, but I do believe there is something like a soul within us. An energy force, or something.

Anyway, I believe that soul, like fishing line, can become worn out and even tangled up over time. It can become worn and nicked from the demands placed on it over time and use. When you reline a fishing reel, a conscious decision is made to make that reel and line a priority. The same can be said for refreshing the soul.

I guess, when you start unspooling the fishing reel of the old worn-out line, you can compare that to emptying your mind of negative thoughts. You can release the old and prepare and make room for the new and positive.

It takes care and some time to reline a fishing reel, so why wouldn't refreshing the soul. Reengaging in the activities that bring you happiness like spending time with people you care about and love or absorbing nature in all its glory are just examples of the pieces that could strengthen the soul. They are what I look to do.

As I sit and think about this even more, it makes more sense to compare these two. For example, when it comes to placing tension on the line too much can result in it fraying or breaking and too little tension and it can get tangled. Something similar could happen with the soul. If there is too much tension through work or life in general, it can lead to a burden on the soul. If there is not enough tension, such as what I have sometimes, like excessive down time without purpose, it can result in tangled thoughts, even aimless behaviors.

So later on when we are ready to line our reels, I am going to try and remember to refresh my soul at the same time. Just like maintenance is necessary for the reel and line, it is important for the soul as well. Yeah, I do some maintenance and self-therapy regularly by blogging and seeing a counselor. I chat with my wife about things. I talk to my dog as well, but she hasn’t talked back, at least not yet.

But what I am talking about is a focused time and place to just sit down and reflect and evaluate. It is a time where I can sit down alone and untangle those knots and repair the frays of the soul. It is not a one off thing for sure, but doing this during a monotonous task like relining my reels would be perfect since they seem to have so much in common now.

Maybe I need to be on the lookout for more monotonous tasks that have something in common with refreshment of the soul that would allow me time to reflect. Mowing the yard used to be one of those things I could get lost in my head doing. I hope to get back to doing that soon.

Oh well, bottom line is that having a relined fishing reel and casting that new line in the water is a reassuring feeling. The same can be said for a refreshed soul. The more I take time to purge negative thoughts, repair my mind, and seek clarity to purpose it helps me get back on track with life’s journey.

Again,it has been a sleepless day and night so I hope this all made sense. If not, there are some questions you can comment on:

Do you have a task that helps you refresh your soul or helps you reflect? If so, what is it and do you enjoy doing it?

Thanks for reading,
Joe

HiveDivider.png

50% of this post’s rewards goes to the @vetfunding account which supports veterans worldwide on Hive. Don't forget to invest in CAV token to help Veterans around the world get their needs met.

mvh4.png
Banner image from Hive Veterans Community Worldwide

Sort:  

At least the line is ready for cooler weather! The soul is a lot more work... Make sure to take that daily time to focus on the positive and drive the demons away. Not an easy feat, it's a day by day struggle.

It is a fight sometimes, but it is getting easier I think.

Yes, that line is ready for the cooler weather now. I have another reel I need to reline, but I got my favorites ready.

Congratulations @coinjoe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the first Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 2