Getting through - with salad and sunsets

in Silver Bloggers18 days ago

Persimmons aka Sharon fruit

This time, a year ago, The Husband was in hospital. He'd come through surgery with flying colours and we were planning his return home to recuperate and resume life. A year ago, tomorrow is the last time I not only heard his voice, but had an in-person, two way conversation with him.

I am grateful for a weekend of caring friends.

Two of them came to stay for a night and not only did we have a good evening, nattering, but T brought persimmons from her mother's garden.

Fiona will know what to do with them

She said.

IMG_20240429_170855_299.jpg

I made a salad.

The sweet, with a dry aftertaste work well with rocket (arugula) and feta (or chevin) if you have it. I made it for other friends who'd invited me for Sunday afternoon evening.

IMG_20240429_171247_258.jpg

After eating our fill and the children left, S and I sat and watched the sun, talking about The Husband and the last year. I am grateful for the space to be as I both continue to mourn and carve out a new life.

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm still re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?

Join Hive using this link and then join us in the Silver Bloggers' community.


Original artwork: @artywink

I create graphics using partly my own photographs as well as images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.

Sort:  
 15 days ago  

Sorry, I am getting forgetful, as I meant to upvote this later on the day that it was posted.
Glad that you have support during the tough times milady, and you remain in our prayers.

!PIZZA and !LUV

fionasfavourites, papilloncharity sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Years slip quietly past we never forget, actually each day and it's never easy.

Food prepared looks delicious as does stunning sky.

!WINEX

You can tell there is love in the preparation of this dish. Getting together with friends is something that is always appreciated. Beautiful place. Greetings. 😘

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@papilloncharity(2/15) tipped @fionasfavourites