Crypto and Me - A Partnership of Sharing

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

This is my post for the Silver Prompts and how cryptocurrency factors into my life and retirement strategy.


man.jpg
https://pixabay.com/photos/man-loneliness-sea-evening-2915187/

I would like to tell you that I have some grand design for my financial future but I do not. Never have. I have never saved or put away anything. I take life as it comes. Being financially secure holds no luster for me whatsoever. I don't want things. Things anchor you and that never seemed very appealing to me. I like the adventure of unknown circumstance and figuring out how to move forward from it. Don't misunderstand me. I have been well off and I have been penniless. I have lived in hotels and slept under bridges. I like my life to have no purpose or destination other than to be kind to others and to be appreciated in kind. Which is why I got into crypto-blogging.
I am a creative at heart. Digital art and poetry mostly, but I also like to take photographs and write stories if they come to mind. I'd reckon that a lot of what I create is so-so, but every now and again I come up with something special. I posted my work on the internet wherever I could, but it would never get much attention. It's very discouraging when you want to share and it seems as though there is no audience. My sons suggested I join Steemit. They told me there were communities that you could post in where you could get attention and make some money doing it. I made an account, created a post, and got noticed. It felt good. It felt great!

me3.jpg

I had found someplace for me to showcase myself and get the accolades I had been searching for. Unfortunately, as is the way with my life, I hit a low spot and had to let Steemit take a backseat while I figured myself out. Again.
Fast forward to the present. As I have said, I live my life a certain kind of way. I have never worried about consequences beforehand, only dealing with them when they arise. That time has come and, I guess, this is one way for me to deal with a biggie. I'm not much for labels (anchors again), but my best friend, or girlfriend, or soulmate, or a thousand other partner euphonism's has laid down the gauntlet, so to speak. She has put up with my dreams and schemes and free spirited nature for nearly twenty years and she's tired. She wants to relax and spend time together instead of me being here today gone tomorrow.
Now I am looking at Hive and crypto-blogging in a whole new light. I see how my time and investment can sustain me wherever I am and whatever I'm doing. She considers this just another dream of mine but I see the bigger picture. Just by being a part of the communities I have learned the potential of cryptocurrency.
I know that my way of life seems like a how-not-to plan for the future, but I think it is just an alternative path to take. As I mentioned earlier in this post, I solve problems as they come. I believe cryptocurrency, the communities of Hive, and blockchains in general are the solution to my current situation. Time will tell. Thank you for being indulgent of me and reading this post. I know it's probably not what is expected from the prompt but I just laid it out the way I see it in my circumstance.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your view with us. I think we all have our perspectives, and that's the great thing about it. We may each see it in our way, but in the end, most of us see Hive as support or sometimes even more in what we want to do with our futures. Thanks for joining the prompt!

Wishing you well with your Crypto journey here on Hive @japhofin8or. You'll enjoy the Silver Bloggers I'm sure, as we're all unique in our approach to 'retirement.' In fact, most of us are either still working, some working for ourselves with small businesses and others are free spirits like yourself.
Thank you for joining in this writing prompt.
Silver-Blond Lizzie 🤗

 2 years ago  

You are blessed to have a partner who stood by and supported you all the way. It's nice to be free spirited and not worry too much of what's to come, but it isn't bad too, to plan for what's ahead hehe. I hope you will enjoy your Hive and crypto journey in general.

I share a similar approach to life and money, but with a few key differences. I enjoy the freedom of movement without responsibility, but I also like having a place to return to. I think of my home as less of an anchor, and more of a platform from which I may launch my adventures. It is also a place to keep and collect things, and over the years I've filled it with the tools of self-sufficiency. This has practically eliminated my need for currency, though I still use money as a tool to acquire things that it would take me too long (or be too wasteful) to build myself.

I believe you have the vision and talent to grow a sustainable account on Hive, though honestly, from what I've seen so far, you will need to work on the craft of blogging a bit before you'll be able to reach that level of regular income. I would say that your posts have great potential, but lack refinement.

My vote isn't worth much, but every little bit helps, and I'm definitely joining your audience!

 2 years ago  

Thank you for the honest and constructive criticism. I do agree that I really have to step up my blogging. I don't really go deep into details or create truly engaging content. YET. I'll get there and I'm sure there are others in the Hive Communities who, like yourself, will offer guidance to help me. Thank you for the feedback. It is honestly and thoughtfully appreciated.