Life at the Fairground

in Silver Bloggers19 days ago (edited)

Do you remember the excitement when the fairground came to town? I dare you to take a peek at this link and tell me which ride you would choose.

My favourite was the colourful ponies on the merry-go-round with its gentle swaying round and around. My brothers were more daring and only wanted to go on the wild rides.
I was a little afraid of the Big Wheel, what if something went wrong and it stopped with me high up in the air? Mom Lily's youngest brother was my 'big brother', and as long as he sat next to me, I felt safe.

I remember how we dared my Oupa to join us on one of the high-speed exhilarating rides where your tummy does a somersault and you scream from the beginning to the end. Oupa shouted one loooong expletive that lasted right to the end, holding onto his hat as if his life depended on it!

I will never forget how we laughed till our tummies hurt after that ride. Oupa scolded us for putting him through that but then started laughing as well.

Life can be just like those rides at the fairground; scary rides that knock us off our feet.

Just like my Oupa held onto his hat, we often hang onto what we see as our safety net, too afraid to let go and try something new. The outcome may not always be what we want, but we adjust, or it turns into one of the best chances we ever took in life!

filip-mroz-kmGllFGvlwY-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

Whenever my cousins came to visit for big family celebrations, I used to feel very sad when everyone had to return home, but the family had all spread their wings into different parts of SA.
I did not want those carefree days to end.

Nowadays, they're all over the world, a harsh reality for many South Africans wanting to escape crime and corruption.

The grass however is not always greener on the other side, right?

I honestly don't think many countries worldwide offer the diversity we have here; from the natural beauty of the majestic mountains to the beautiful blue oceans. We have eleven official languages, each with its own culture; which can be fascinating. I believe our people could live in harmony if the politicians stopped meddling and causing division.

IMG_20240414_072109.jpg
Tranquil view from our cottage balcony - would I be able to enjoy this if I had not taken that chance by turning the cottage into an Airbnb just over eight years ago? Do I really want to leave this behind?

The month of April for sure played tricks with me, some good and some bad stuff.

This week was the worst with way too many ups and downs, I felt like my head was spinning by the end of the week. I needed time alone, and it's been good!

One of the 'downs' turned into a nostalgic but happy visit.
I lost a dear old friend, my very first neighbour after Arthur and I got married. I last saw her children when they were young teens, as they all emigrated years ago. They popped over for a visit and had a peep across the fence to see what was left of their old garden. It was a lovely trip down memory lane as I'd forgotten some of the happenings way back then! Their Mom was a graphic designer and worked for a textile manufacturer. Many of her designs ended up on clothing sold in one of our high-quality stores. She worked from home when her children were growing up, something quite unusual back then, but she was super-creative.
IMG_20240419_130231.jpg
A replica of the Jerusalem Western Wall of Prayer is in the church where my friend's memorial was held. Anyone can write a prayer, push it into the wall cavities, and have their prayers read out at the next church service.

When I lose a loved one, I remember how I used to cry as a little girl when the family parted ways, I wanted us all to live together and be one big happy family forever.

My niece and her family visited us some years back, and her little boy was inconsolable on their way back home, saying to his parents:

Why do you give me new people and then take them away from me?

A sentiment I shared when I was younger, and still feel at times, but I now understand that people come into our lives not only for a season but also for a reason. There are lessons to be learnt along the way.

The missing, however, will never end!


Black & White Minimalist Signature Personal Brand Logo edit.png

Create your own Forever Memory Bank
Join our community of awesome content creators
right here on HIVE


𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

Sort:  

I checked out your link... the only attraction I could try is bumper cars. They're on the ground so they seem safe enough. I've never been a huge fan of fairgrounds, as we didn't have many of those when I was a kid. Later on I had to battle my fears and take my kids on various rides, some of them quite scary. Thankfully, they no longer need an adult for that so I can watch, never with an easy heart though.

 13 days ago  

Those bumper cars were great fun, I'd forgotten about them, but I'm not sure I could go on any of those again. Actually very much like I'd not want a repeat some of thode bad experiences in life, but at the same time wish I could relive special moments.
You have a very special daughter!
We never stop worrying about our kids, no matter how old they are.
Have a wonderful weekend Rebecca.

!LOLZ
thanks for sharing this amazing post

Want to here a joke about pizza?
It's a little cheesy.

Credit: boboman
@lizelle, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of vaynard.fun

(4/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

 13 days ago  

Glad you enjoyed it @vaynard.fun

Memories in writings are always a wonderful share. And this is one such beautiful experience where we are able to recollect some good old memories. Regarding the rides, I too like pony rides and train ride with evwry one beside me. But not the roller coaster. As you mentioned I always have a feeling what if stopped in the middle of the air on too and left all at once. Amazing view from your balcony to refresh ourselves. Lastly, Sony to hear about your friend. But then as told by someone, life should move on.

 13 days ago  

Yes that's my fear always was getting stuck high up in the air, life is just like that at times, right? All we can do is just remember it won't be that way forever!

As a kid I was always hearing the saying of having a life like a rollercoaster but I only figured out what truly means when getting older. But along with all the ups and downs, rollercoasters can be pretty fun if you know how to take only the best of each ride so might as well be applied to life too, and consider just the beautiful moments, while the others are just challenges :)

 13 days ago  

Hi Gabriela,
Very true, we have to treasure those special moments as they very soon become just a memory.
Have a great weekend, likely exploring your beautiful country.

Thank you so much my dear!! We are celebrating Easter today so not much travelling ahead but definitely lots of good times with family! Hope you are well!

Greetings from Venezuela in our country. We call the ferris wheel the wheel. Like many of you, riding the wheel gave me a bad feeling in my stomach, a feeling I still have. Heights make me dizzy, I prefer to have my feet on the ground, very characteristic of my sign (Taurus). I feel comfortable controlling what surrounds me. Take care of the good ones, there are more of us.

 13 days ago  

Hi @rafamar, I'm the same, would rather feel I have some control over things.
The good memories are what we need to remember.
Greetings from South Africa.

Thanks for your attention to my post

Your nostalgia for the losses is understandable, we have all suffered some. I have also lost dear friends, neighbors, my father, that's life. Families suffer today from separations, here or there it is the same. I really liked your post it is very real. Thank you for sharing it. Have a nice week.❤️🥰

 13 days ago  

Hey @mamani, sorry I'm only now responding, but this week was crazier than ever.
Loss makes me realize how important it is to make the best of each day, each moment!
Have a great weekend <3

Yes, life sure offers us many ups and downs Lizelle and so difficult to know what choices are right and which ones are wrong. The "what if's" of life

 18 days ago  

Yes and one can never go back, so they say, never use these phrases:

What if...
If only I had...
I should have...

Pointless, but at least we can learn from them.
You certainly made the right choice by following your passion, would you ever have thought you would be this successful when you started out?
Well done Eden😍

@tipu curate 2

 13 days ago  

Thank you for the tip @robibasa