Levelling Up Part 2.

in Silver Bloggers25 days ago

Levelling Up Part 2



Reflections On Intent


As a follow up to my previous post, I thought I would do a deeper dive into levelling up. This may turn into an ongoing series, I just haven’t decided yet.

Before we can really “level up”, it’s important to know what our intentions are. What are our over all goals?
What, if anything, is holding us back from achieving those goals? Are they just mental fears? Social constraints / norms?
Is it a lack of resources like money, tools, supplies, or some physical object?

Ask within your network of friends, family and coworkers to see if they can source these resources either for free or cheaply.

Incremental Improvements


Every time you try something new, whether you fail or not, you learn something and it’s important to acknowledge these micro improvements. They are going to add up over time.

While working for the ticket selling company I was taught how to upgrade Member tickets during the week, and just yesterday I was taught how to sell theatre tickets based on the price range.

By the way, the Tina Turner tribute show is apparently excellent according to a few patrons and a staff member who had seen it previously.

I managed to get the 3Speak app to link to the Hive Keychain app, record a video, edit it and upload it all while using the limited WIFI of a local supermarket.

I've also been listening to audiobooks, streamed from my iPad to my hearing aids via the bluetooth. Finance books mostly. I'd previously just been listening to podcasts.

I learned how to spot rosemarie, a herb the chefs use in the kitchen, in the nearby carpark.

Today during a kitchen hand shift, I was taught how to crumb and fry chicken schnitzels and also how to make parmigiana topping too.

I asked a coworker where I should be applying for pub work and she mentioned that there were companies that owned a few pubs and to contact them directly and see what they have available.

I'm also going to bring my resume to a job fair this weekend. Coincidentally, one of the women who used to train me in various courses years ago.

Future Growth


I have no idea what I'll learn tomorrow or the rest of the week, but I am eagerly looking forward to it.

I am still weighing up the cost of further work related training versus the potential of the course paying for itself in the short term, when I know that investing in improving myself is the best investment.

The more barriers to employment I remove, the more options I have available.

Thank you for reading.

Until next time, insist on being treated with dignity and respect and treat others the same.

Shaidon

All content, including photos and text, are produced by myself except where indicated otherwise and sources are always qsupplied. I do not use A.I. so your upvotes support a genuine human being producing original material.

Sort:  

Indeed Shaidon it all starts with goals and intent first before any effort is made to #levelup

 25 days ago  

Thanks for reading.

Always welcome brother

 22 days ago  

If you stop and reflect a little, you'll see that
you're always learning something new. The best advice I could ever give someone is to be proactive in your education.

You're very right Shaidon there's so much I've learned even just from Hive alone this week.🥰

Hey man, I know you tried using inLeo back in Feb 2023 but of course, since it was full of bugs you went back to the familiar frontends haha

We have done a ton of improvements and fixed bugs, I was wondering if you'd try again publishing a long form post from inLeo and give me your opinion about the experience so we can keep improving! (And also so your posts can earn $leo tokens hehe)

To earn $leo tokens all you need to do is publish from inleo onto any Hive community and you don't need to use the tag 'leofinance' or publish to the LeoFinance community anymore.

 22 days ago  

Unfortunately inleo still isn’t letting me in via the mobile browser.

Oh no, what kind of issues are you experiencing? This is good, we need as much feedback as possible

 19 days ago  

Nothing happens when I try to log in. It doesn’t communicate with the Hive Keychain app. I don't get an error message or anything.