Sort:  

You are so lucky. They are just as shy. I have one that always visits me when I work in the compost. They love the pill bugs walking on the walls.

The few I have sighted are normally on the ground in quiet shaded areas around the garden, nice to enjoy the odd times we see them in the open.

So true. When I water the garden, they always show as well because the bugs surface. They are one of the most beautiful birds for me.

When we had a watering system setup around the garden little birds used to love flying through the spray, alas that now a thing of the past as well.

That is so cute, and sad that it is not happening any longer. I see that every single time I water the garden, the birds somehow know what I am doing. They always inspect, either to bathe or to eat the worms and bugs coming to the surface.

Over 20 years turning garden to indigenous I no longer own a hosepipe let alone watering system, some ferns or plant under cover get bucket of water sip when dry.

Pond for birds to drink or dip in also available as birds requirements high on my list of priorities.

I wish for that day! I planted mostly indigenous plants, but the ground/soil where we live is far from indigenous, I think. The ground/soil is clay, which is not ideal for fynbos, as far as I know. But it is what we make of it. I have seen tremendous growth and return of life, but I still need to water it as the summer kills even indigenous plants.