Wednesday Walk - Back to the Winter Wonderland...

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Only a few days ago I was celebrating Spring with the melt happening then look what I woke up to this morning...

Snowy Scene From Outside My Bedroom Window

snowy scene looking at snow covered chairs around firepit.JPG

We had six inches of snow! Replacing all that snow that had melted - yike!

This was scene from my front deck -

Snowy Scene From Front Deck

snowy scene looking east from deck.JPG

Of course it didn't phase Bruno - he loves snow!

Bruno Sitting in Snow on Deck

Bruno sitting on snowy deck.JPG

It was the funniest thing - because the snow was so wet and sticky, Bruno's log that he likes playing with became a big snow ball so Bruno had a big snowball to roll around. He had me chuckling!

Bruno Playing With Big Snowball

Bruno playing with snowball.JPG

He was rolling in the fresh snow too but I wasn't quick enough to catch that but I did catch him running through the snow...

Bruno Running Through Fresh Snow

Bruno running through snow.JPG

As for JJ it was a different story. Thinking it was just like the other days being warm and having the snow melting he went out the back door that goes onto the covered porch. He was a little shocked to see all the snow back so he scurried to the front porch to be let in when he saw me out there.

JJ Scurries on to Front Deck To Be Let Indoors

Bruno and JJ at deck snowy scene behind.JPG

At the bird feeder you see in the above photo the woodpecker and Bluejays had come around for a feed. I was happy I had a big pile of sunflower seeds for them for a big covering of snow like this makes it harder for them to find food.

Woodpecker at Feeder Looking for Food in the Snow

woodpecker on feeder surrounded by snowy branches.JPG

Peering at Bluejay Through Snowy Branches

bluejay surrounded by snowy branches.JPG

The woodpecker was also looking for bugs under the bark of the maple trees

Downy Woodpecker Chipping at Tree Bark Looking for Bugs

woodpecker on treetrunk surrounded by snowy branches.JPG

The redpolls were still around but not as active and all the seed on the ground was covered with snow so they had to wait their turn to get on the feeder

Redpoll Waiting Turn at Feeder on Snowy Tree Branch

redpoll on top of snowy maple treetop.JPG

This was the view from the other side of the deck with the tree branches bowing down beneath the weight of the snow.

Snowy Trail Leading to Neighbor's Place

snowy view from deck looking to path to neighbors.JPG

This was the view off my back porch looking towards the hoop house - you can see the big flakes of snow starting to fall.

View Towards Hoop House With Big Snowflakes Falling

snowy scene looking towards hoop house with snow flakes.JPG

The other side of the house the lights from the sun room made for a warm glow contrasting the cold snow.

Contrasting View of Snowy Trees and Warm Glow of Sun Room

snowy scene looking towards side of sunroom.JPG

The next photo I took with the creative filter on my camera which really highlighted the fresh snow

Highlighted Snow on Tree Branches

highlighted snowy scene looking towards side of sunroom.JPG

Snowy View From Courtyard Outside Our Back Door

snowy scene from back door.JPG

Then the snow flakes got really big as you can see in the photos below...

Large Flakes Falling on Snow Covered Evergreens

large snowflakes falling on snowy spruce trees.JPG

Large Fluffy Flakes Falling Among the Evergreens

3 snowy spruce heavy snowfall.JPG

Needless to say we didn't walk to far in that deep snow for it was hard going because the snow was so wet and heavy.

I'm throwing this picture for the Show Me a Photo Contest put on by @nelinoeva that had a theme of BIRDS WITH HUMANMADE THINGS details here that was taken before the snowfall

Redpoll on Decoy Looking for Seed in Pot

redpoll on duck decoy in pot.JPG

That's it for my #WednesdayWalk which is hosted by @tattoodjay go check out his latest post here. He collaborates with @elizacheng and her #MakeMeSmile initiative see her latest post here

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This doesn't look like Spring to me at all... 6 inches of snow, although I have no idea how much snow is that, but I think it's quite a lot for Spring.
Hopefully everything will be fine and she can go to school next Monday.

the snow looks so beautiful, but not what you were expecting, where is spring when you need it LOL

I think I would be like my namesake your cat JJ out for a minute then rushing back intot he warm

so cool you go to see some birds especially the BlueJay

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Oh, what a cute photo of redpoll on the duck. 😀 I was wondering which is your entry photo while reading your post and you kept it for the last.
Beautiful white, snowy scenery. It is funny how Bruno plays in the snow. 😀