SMaP #166 : Lathe birds in sugar cane plantations

in Feathered Friends28 days ago

Hello friends in Feathered friends Community....
I saw @nelinoeva's post on show Me a Photo Contest #166 with a free theme. So I will participate in this contest. Every day I go to and from work passing through sugar cane plantations, coincidentally when I came home from work yesterday afternoon, I saw two lathe birds in the sugar cane plantation area.

IMG20240516120715.jpg

In Indonesia, the lathe bird is one of the birds most sought after by massage oil makers, because the lathe bird is used as a basic ingredient for making massage oil.

IMG20240516120716.jpg

During the sugarcane planting season in sugarcane plantations, lathe birds will move to densely growing sugarcane plantations, so that their whereabouts are unknown to humans.

IMG20240516120700.jpg

IMG20240516120707.jpg

I saw two lathe birds on the edge of the sugar cane plantation, when I passed by and tried to take some photos, they immediately moved away from me, the lathe birds immediately left and entered the sugar cane plantation, the thick sugar cane trees made them immediately invisible.

IMG20240516120711.jpg

Even though they hide among the thick sugar cane stalks, because of their brown and black fur, they stand out among the sugar cane stalks and green leaves. The lathe bird also has a fairly large body and is easy to see, therefore hunters can easily find out the whereabouts of this lathe bird.

IMG20240516120718.jpg

They were very afraid of human presence, therefore when they saw me approaching, they immediately ran into the sugar cane plantation to hide.

Thank you for reading my post

Sort:  

I think it is first time to see such bird.
Thank you for your entry qnd interesting post.

Thanks for support @nelinoeva