Food of the crazy kind & weird diets πŸ˜€

in Feathered Friends β€’ 2 years ago

What kind of diet do you think these birds are on? πŸ˜€

When @nelinoeva challenged us for photos of birds with food in the mouth, I took a look at my collection and WOW - what a variety of diet I found!

No - I did not find them eating pizzas and burgers. See for yourself what they love to eat...


blog title.png
I am a rat-exterminator!
My own click

Some, like the barn owl, love to catch mice and rodents of various types. While some prefer Sushi πŸ˜€

I am not kidding. Look at this river tern with raw fish. It will be eating Sushi isn't it?


FB-DSC_4427_DxO (FILEminimizer).jpg
I love Sushi!
My own click

Kingfishers love Sushi too but they do try other sea-food! Like this one here..


DS1_2214_DxO-SA (1) INSTA 1080.jpg
I love sea food!
My own click

Then there are ones that like frog legs - like a Chinese diet..
This Purple Heron was silently wading around in the rain and caught a fat juicy frog just as I focused on it...


FBL-DS1_0627_DxO-SA PS 1080 INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg
How about some frog legs for dinner?
My own click

For change, sometimes birds go vegan too. This golden oriole was eating fruit for a change..


DS1_4241_DxO_PS-1080 INSTA 1080 (FILEminimizer).jpg
I am on Vegan diet!
My own click

As a coincidence, just before I saw this challenge by @nelinoeva, I actually clicked a whole series of pics and wrote a post about Early bird catching a worm that has clicks of a White throated Kingfisher with a juicy green caterpillar - A protein diet??πŸ˜€


A protein diet?
My own post

Out of all these, my favorite is the click of the barn owl with the rodent because it is difficult to get a barn owl first of all, clicking it at night is a difficult task in low light and then to top it all, to find it with a kill is a really rare occurrence...

Therefore, here is that photo in original form as my entry for contest #SMAP 82


FBL-_DSC8917_DxO FB2048 (FILEminimizer).jpg
My entry for #SMAP 82

Hope you enjoyed the 'Bird diet pics' πŸ˜€ Please feel free to comment and let me know your views ...

A big thank you for support

Thanks to c/hive-106444 (Feathered friends community) for providing this wonderful opportunity to present my experience and photographs. Thanks to @barbara-orenya and @melinda010100 for all the support and encouragement to this community. Special thanks to @nelinoeva also for starting the Species hunt initiative. My posts are not exactly in that format but have all the necessary info and Good original Photos. Further guidance will be very much welcome.

Thanks to HIVE for this wonderful platform. Thanks also to @adalger and @dna.org for encouraging me by recognizing some of my posts as worthy of Densifying nature project.
Further, thanks to Amazing nature community for welcoming me and showing me their love on some of my posts.


Note: All images and collages in this blog are created by me, based on photos clicked by me personally and/or free vector images from Pixabay. Any other sources, if used, are indicated as image credits below the picture.
Quotes used, if not credited, are either from unknown authors or are proverbial old sayings.


2bottom header image vm2904 (FILEminimizer).png

Y2iXpRRkNSnseh3NuL6KUBitJTXrc5Jz3moTQfEFut2A2.png

ecotrain.png

the alliance logo.png

Sort: Β 


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joanstewart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love these! You were really lucky to get such great pictures, they could easily go in a nature magazine...

Can I please use one of the pictures in Let Our Picture Tell Your Story, giving you full credit?

Thank you for the kind words of appreciation. Please go ahead and use a pic for the contest. It will be an honour for me.

That barn owl shot!!! It's so awesome!

Thank you so much. It took some effort and was a difficult low light shot but was worth it.

Each capture superbly taken showing the variety of diet in bird life.

Owl is super special, we all know what they eat, never witness, an excellent choice for photography entry here!

@tipu curate 2

@joanstewart Thank you Joan. with your expertise in the wildlife observation, you have correctly judged the difficulty of capturing an owl with a kill. thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation.

singature small avatar.png

Never had the good fortune of ever seeing this, great capture to say the least when taken in the wild.

Oh, what a catch! I am again in awe watching your photos.
The owl is simply the best, but saying that, the rest are equally outstanding.
Thank you so much for your entry, such a treat for the eyes.

@nelinoeva Your words are always so encouraging. They inspire me to do better with each post. Thank you so much

singature small avatar.png

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

@ecency Thank you very much. much appreciated

singature small avatar.png