Riot of colors ! A bird that carries 9 colors- Pimping it?? πŸ˜€

in Feathered Friends β€’ 24 days ago

Pimping it you think? A bird with so many colors would surely look a bit gaudy you think?

Well - take a look. I think it just looks so cute and attractive.


blog title.png

This bird, an Indian Pitta, is not usually easy to spot since it spends most of it's time foraging in underbrush and that too on the forest fringes. So, we are unlikely to see it near human habitat.

In the forest too, though it is present and resident all around the year, it stays mostly out of site.

Only, as the monsoon approaches and their mating/nesting season starts, these spectacular birds become more noticeable. Their peculiar calls can be heard and they are seen gathering nesting material.

I was lucky to see two of them last year. The presence of two of them, gathering nesting material almost guaranteed the presence of a nest nearby.


PS_DS15966_DxO-SA-1080 INSTA 1080.jpg

I managed to get a spectacular click last year with the bird carrying a large leaf for nesting material. Of course, I did not want to disturb the nest in any way so I observed the birds for 1-2 hours to note a point in transit where the birds alighted sometimes during their transit to the nest. This was well away from the nest so I hid near this point and sat absolutely still. As a result, I got this click...


PS_DS16027_DxO-SA-1080 INSTA 1080.jpg

However, my best and close up click of the bird resulted this year. Exactly a year after the last click, I visited the site again to check if the birds were again building a nest. Sure enough, though the general location was same, they were ferrying the building materials to a different tree.

I managed to get the following click, one of my favorites and a very close up click ...


_DS17417-ON1-FULL (FILEminimizer).jpg
A 'count-my-feather' click and my entry for #SMaP 167

So - tell me, do you think the bird looks guady, a pimp or cute? πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Please feel free to comment and let me know your views. Also - please let me know if you liked the clicks.

A big thank you for support

Thanks to c/hive-106444 (Feathered friends community) for providing this wonderful opportunity to present my experience and photographs. Thanks to @barbara-orenya and @melinda010100 for all the support and encouragement to this community. Special thanks to @nelinoeva also for the wonderful contest and Author of the week initiatives.

Thanks to HIVE for this wonderful platform. Thanks also to @adalger and @dna.org for encouraging me by recognizing some of my posts as worthy of Densifying nature project.
Further, thanks to Amazing nature community for welcoming me and showing me their love on some of my posts.


Note: All images and collages in this blog are created by me, based on photos clicked by me personally and/or free vector images from Pixabay. Any other sources, if used, are indicated as image credits below the picture.
Quotes used, if not credited, are either from unknown authors or are proverbial old sayings.


2bottom header image vm2904 (FILEminimizer).png

Y2iXpRRkNSnseh3NuL6KUBitJTXrc5Jz3moTQfEFut2A2.png

ecotrain.png

the alliance logo.png

Sort: Β 

What a beautiful bird! Your photos are marvelous.

@melinda010100 Thank you so much,. Glad you liked the clicks. So - you do not think the bird looks gaudy with too many colors ? πŸ˜€

singature small avatar.png

It is gorgeous. I don't think we have anything with that many colors here!

Wow
What a beautiful bird!
Looks so lovely!

Thank you so much. It’s is a lovely bird with lots of Colors

The bird is extraordinary and your photos top-notch as always.
I must say that you are true inspiration.

Strikingly beautiful, wow would love to see these!

!BEER

Congratulations @vm2904! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 48000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 49000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

@sagarkothari88 reward 0.05 HP

πŸ‘ sagarkothari88 πŸ‘ sent 0.050 HIVE to you @vm2904
πŸ‘ Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ πŸ‘
πŸ™ Don't forget to Support Back πŸ™

Congratulations @vm2904! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 7 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2024