Reflecting on Mother's Day: A Reminder of Maternal Presence

in Family & Friendslast month

Sometimes we don't cherish what we have until we lose them. Today is the world's Mother's day and I want to express my love and gratitude to her while she is alive.

Social media is an interesting digital hub to get trending news across the globe. I didn't know today was "Mother's Day" because we had earlier celebrated "Women's Day." While scrolling through my social media feed, I saw many friends of mine posting women on their walls. When I read one of the captions, it said "Happy Mother's day." In amazement, I hurriedly went to Mum's room and wished her a happy Mother's day.

Today, as we color the internet with well wishes to all mother's across the globe, let's not forget the crucial roles they play at home. Coincidentally, something happened in our house before we got to church today; my dad stepped out of the house very early in the morning for an official assignment in the office. We began to prepare for church service because we were behind time. Later on, my mum stepped out to buy some foodstuffs in the nearby shop; in less than a minute my siblings began to ask each other mummy's whereabouts - meanwhile daddy had been absent for hours.

source

Please don't get me wrong, we love our parents so dearly and they mean a lot to us. But what I noticed today was that we had parental preferences; we can notice the absence of our mum in the house more than our dad.

Similarly, every house may have its preferences best known to them. What I'm driving out from this short instance is the value of my mother in the house. Aside from the online notification, I celebrate the mothers often because of the commitment they make to bringing out the best in their kids.

One of the things I learned from my mom is that she believes in us even though others may not - likewise other mothers. I can recall the story of Ben Carson's mother and other well-known scientists whom their teachers did not regard but the mother kept believing in him/her.

Moreso, while viewing the social media feed some were saying a happy Mother's Day to their late mother; with tears in my eyes I reflected on the essence of valuing, respecting, and honoring my mother while she is still alive - however, it is a similar advice to my readers too.

Furthermore, no matter how busy we may be in our day-to-day activities, let's not overlook the constant love and support that mothers provide. As I celebrate my mother today, I celebrate all mothers across the globe - I pray the unwavering love, guidance, and sacrifices will not end in vain. I can imagine how hurtful it is when a child grows up to be wealthy and ends up forgetting his mother; it is unfair if we fail to fully appreciate the mothers until they're momentarily absent.

On the other hand, as earlier mentioned —do we, as children, have parental preferences? Does it affect the relationship at home? If yes, then it is something to be worked on. The love for a mother should encompass embracing the father too. Even though it's natural for people to have different levels of closeness towards each parent, what truly matters is the love and respect we hold for both.

As we celebrate Mother's Day, let us not only celebrate our mother but all mothers, and let's take a moment to reflect on their influences on us as kids. Let us cherish the moments, both big and small, and express our gratitude not just today, but every day, for the unwavering love and support they provide.

Here is a post for May Inleo Prompt

This article is written in InLeo

Inleo is a blockchain-based Web3 community that builds innovative applications on the Hive, BSC, ETH, and Polygon blockchains. Our flagship application: Inleo allows users and creators to engage and share content on the blockchain while earning cryptocurrency reward

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @johnuko! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

Thank you very much 😊

Keep it up @johnuko! Your daily posts are inspiring and making a difference on Hive.