Sharing a simple yet unforgettable weekend happening.

in Family & Friends10 months ago

Food brings family closer.🤗

PicsArt_08-21-01.57.37.jpg

~WHEN FOOD IS SHARED, MEMORIES ARE ALSO CREATED~

It is another time of the year when one of the most common cereals grown for people's consumption has its harvesting period - the corn.

PicsArt_08-20-07.32.52.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.38.22.jpg

It was Sunday, and after my Sundate with the Lord, I went straight back home. I went to my auntie's house because Mama and Papa were already there. There was no occasion. We just got used to spending time with them on weekends.

When I arrived there, they have already harvested corn to be cooked for snacks. Right after harvesting, the mothers and the nephews directly removed the corn husks and placed the undressed corn in a large pot with water, ready for cooking. Some of the nephews and nieces were making a literal fire. It takes an hour or so before the corn is completely cooked.

PicsArt_08-20-07.31.48.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.32.10.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.38.40.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.38.55.jpg

What I love about them especially when we have a little get-together over food is that nephews and nieces are participative, labors are divided, and tasks are shared. They do not depend on the elders for the chores. One in food, one in work. Hehehe.

We took shield and shade under this large miracle tree with plenty of fruits. Truly, the blazing heat of the sun does not directly hit us. The presence of this tree enables us to breathe fresh air amidst the heat of the surroundings.

PicsArt_08-20-07.39.55.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.40.15.jpg

While waiting for the corn to be cooked, we saw a guava tree nearby which was owned by my auntie. We went closer and to our surprise and delight, the guava tree is in full bloom of its ripe fruits.

Since I was young, I am afraid of climbing because I once fell from climbing on a tamarind tree, thus, leaving me with physical wounds and emotional scars. So, I told my nephews to climb and get the guavas and my only participation was to be the imaginary basket where harvested fruits are kept. Hahaha.

PicsArt_08-20-07.41.09.jpg

PicsArt_08-21-01.23.35.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.42.02.jpg

Some guavas are at hand, they are reachable but knowing my height, I didn't dare. Besides, my hands were both occupied, one holding my shirt where the guavas were placed and the other hand was busy eating. Hahaha.

PicsArt_08-20-07.44.03.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.43.46.jpg

We were in great astonishment as the number of guavas we have picked are increasingly unbelievable, and we returned to our haven.

PicsArt_08-20-07.45.00.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.44.44.jpg

We happily shared our guava harvest while having some chitchats. The fun, the laughter, and the conversations while sharing the little and simplest things we have is incomparable. Just look at these faces.

Caution: The candid shots of their smiles and laughters.😂❗❗❗

PicsArt_08-20-07.45.36.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.45.59.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.46.19.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.46.38.jpg

After an hour, the corn was completely cooked. We still have space for additional food, haha so without hesitation, we attacked. Haha.

PicsArt_08-21-01.29.49.jpg

After lunch, a motorcycle selling taho passed by. It already passed by the house so the nephews and nieces called to ask the driver to come back.

Taho is a snack made of fresh tofu, sweetener, and sago pearls. He also sells puto kutsinta, a Filipino delicacy made with glutinous rice flour, sugar, and water and formed into small rounds, steamed, and topped with coconut flakes.

PicsArt_08-20-07.47.00.jpg

PicsArt_08-20-07.47.16.jpg

At 4 in the afternoon, we left my auntie's house and went to my home in Borbon. They were very excited because some of them would visit the house for the first time. We cooked and eat dinner and had a movie marathon earlier.

NEPHEWS AND NIECES PICTORIAL WHEN WE REACHED HOME.

IMG_20230821_134500.jpg

IMG_20230821_134452.jpg

IMG_20230821_134525.jpg

IMG_20230821_134517.jpg

IMG_20230821_134508.jpg

(These photos were sent in our GC.)

THOUGHTS FOR THE SOUL

Family is non-negotiable. They should always come first. Spending quality time doesn't have to be expensive and luxurious. Truly, happiness comes from a grateful heart who appreciates the simplicity of things.

PicsArt_08-21-01.51.28.jpg

This is one of the weekends I will always treasure. This is all for today. I hope you also had a great weekend. Be well. Be safe. Until the netswriting.

Sort:  

I really miss eating tinanok na mais, and also guavas.

Hehehe makamingaw gyud ning panagsa ra makakaon maam @simplybil 😊

Kalami man ana mam.hehehe

Hehehe lami ang pagkaon sa bukid maam.😊

Dami mais. Ilan kayo kumain? Haha..
Kakamiss gamito bonding

Marami @jane1289 😊 The more, the merrier. Hahaha

Nagpaibog lagi ka mam Net. hahaha.. I invite myself na gyud para laag sa inyo. haha

Hahaha. Sagkaa lang gyud ko ninyo diri maam.

I love corn and you reminded me to buy some tomorrow from the farmers market. On the other hand, I've never had guava. It's not familiar here.

Anyway, I see you had a lot of fun and that's all that matters.

I'm glad I reminded you that one.😊 It is this season here in our place where the abundance of corn harvest happens.

Guavas grow in tropical areas. It has many benefits too. It is rich in vitamin c and anti- oxidants. I hope you can try this fruit, one day.

There's never a boring day when I am with nephews and nieces. ❤️

Thank you for dropping by @erikah 🥰

Kalami sa taho og sa nilung ag nga mais uy. 🤤 makamingaw ang mga times nga naa ko sa akong lola unya lung agan mi og mais hehe

It always feels good to look back on the times we were able to experience the simplicity of a province life.

Lolas are the best.❤️

Pagkaanindot jud sa bukid.
Kalami naman sa tilaob.hehehe

Yes. Lami gyud. Samot na nga ang uma kay right at the doorstep ra. Hehe

Hala noh! Kadaghang vitamins sa mata ug makabusog sa tiyan ba ani. Naglaway ang buntit! Pwede ipa LBC ang uban ma'am. Bahini intawn ko.

Hahahaha. Daghan gyud kaayo maam, right at the doorstep ra ni tanan. Ig human nag utong sa buntit, bantay jud ning mga pagkaona.

A genuine smiles and laughters from your family faces, says it all ma’am. Really, family is love. Sweet corn my faveeeee!🙌🏻 It must have felt nice to be able to harvest a corn and make it as the family’s snacks.💛

True dae @rainebow0407 😊 we're making most of the time with the abundance of what's in our doorstep.😊