Showing Gratitude to Non-Traditional Mother Figures

image.png
Image Source

I never remembered today is the great Mother’s day celebration not until I went through today’s mayinleo daily prompt and I discovered that today is actually Mother’s day. Happy mother’s day to every mother, grandmothers, stepmothers, aunties and to everyone who has played the motherly role, we celebrate you and your unwavering love and support you have shown in our lives. Happy Mother’s Day!

Mother’s day is not just a day on our calendar, it is a special day set aside to celebrate and express our heartfelt appreciation to our mothers be it our grandmother, stepmother, aunties, elder sisters, and all those who have played the motherly role in our lives, it is a day for showering our gratitude to them for all their selfless love and sacrifices towards us.

When I was a bit younger, I thought mother’s day was meant to celebrate only our biological mothers, as I grew older I came to realize that mother’s day is not just a day to celebrate our biological mothers but a day to also celebrate our non-traditional mother figures.

WHO ARE OUR NON-TRADITIONAL MOTHER FIGURES?

A non-traditional mother figure is a person who is not our biological mother but plays the role of a mother by nurturing, counselling, support and takes close care of a person. Our Non-Traditional mother figures include our grandmother, stepmother, aunties, single fathers, adoptive parents, elderly sisters, guardians etc. In one way or the other we have been under the care of our Non-traditional mother figures, they truly deserve some respect and love too.

image.png
Image Source

Grandparents are one of our major mother figures, I personally lived with my grandmother, my parents were too busy and barely had time for me, so my grandmother took care of me right from age five till I was eleven years of age. Now I am all grown up and I cannot cease to appreciate her for all her selfless, love, support and care towards me, she nurtured me like my own mother would have done and the bond we share is so strong that I cannot keep secrets from her.

Grandparents are one of the extra benefits to grandchildren, if you have not lived with your grandparents before then I can say you are missing a lot, their folktales, long advice and care is so immeasurable, they deserved to be celebrated and honoured greatly. I can’t wait to celebrate my grandparents today.

image.png
Image Source

Step mothers are another set of mother figures that deserved to be honoured, though I have heard many tales of step parents, I still believe there are good step parents, taking care of another person’s child is not an easy task so if any step mother accommodates and welcomes a step child she automatically becomes the child’s guardian, this act shows their love and care, hence the deserve some love and appreciation too.

image.png
Image Source
Adoptive/foster parents are not left behind in all these, they play a great parental role by nurturing, loving and caring for a child who is not theirs, they are one of the generous set of people I have ever come across, they open their heart and homes to children in need, offering them all the love, care, protection and support they need. Indeed foster/adoptive parents deserves to be honoured and celebrated on this special day.

Finally, motherhood is not all about connection by blood, it is a connection rooted in love, care, nurturing, selflessness etc, this may not be from our biological parents but from other people who never cease to show their unwavering love and support to us.
As today marks the mother’s day, let’s extend our love, gratitude and honour to our biological mothers and all our motherly figures who have made a great difference in our lives.

image.png
Image Source
HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO ALL OUR GREAT MOTHERS, MOTHER FIGURES AND POTENTIAL MOTHERS.

Thank you for reading

This post is in response to the mayinleo daily prompt

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

i love this, special shout-out to all our mother figure in the society.

yeah, they deserve some love, happy moithers day to all mothers

Congratulations @utibeabasi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

You're right, motherhood is not by blood connection alone. I can only imagine how tender grandparents take care of their grandchildren. I never had tthe opportunity though. Good script here.

definitely I grew with my grandmother and she played the motherly role in my life, she taught me all i needed to know in life

I do love and appreciate all the mother figures in my life they have been a blessing and supportive. Happy Mother’s Day dear

mothers are the most amazing people i have ever known, though they tend to scold a lot. lol, thank God i am also a woman and i will play my cards well

The scolding part though.