Papa Regena?

in ThoughtfulDailyPost15 days ago (edited)

Being from the East Coast one of my favorite Spanish snacks is called papa regena. For me it was a fried potato ball stuffed with ground beef. I've enjoyed them whenever possible throughout the years. Yet after stopping at La Papas restaurant I've gained a whole new appreciation for a papas regena.

After running some errands and visiting family my dad decided to stop and get something to eat. So we pulled into La Papa restaurant. My dad would come here with his dad. As for me it was my first time.

So I looked at the menu, and I thought to myself a stuffed potato ball sounds pretty good. I mean I guess I could order a couple of them to hold me over.

I began to suspect that maybe I didn't fully understand what I was ordering. When my the lady in the kitchen asked me what I wanted in my potato. The hint fell in singular use of the word potato.

My experience of a papa regena until then was of deep fried mash potato ball that I could hold in my hand while eating it. It was more of snack, not really a meal. So I asked about the portion size, and though I still didn't fully understand. I took it on faith that one was enough.

I've clearly never had a true papa regena. It was delicious, and one was more then enough. As we ate I silently reflected on my misunderstanding. Amusing myself with imagined reactions to my mistakingly ordering more then one potato. I realize now it's basically a stuffed potato, it just took a while to process in my head.

All photos used in this blog are mine and we're taken using my one plus 7 pro

Sort:  

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

That looks incredibly delicious 🤤😋

It was pretty good. !LUV

stevenson7, dreamingirwin sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 14 days ago  
It's good to see, that portions are bigger... yes? So many food items that I remember as a kid, have now become miniature bite-sized portions of what they used to be. Anyway... great post brother. But as you might remember... we require everyone to source the images they use when posting. Please let us know what device you've used to create these delicious photos, so I can curate your post!


Wes...
TDPBlinkie-anim.gif

Their definitely my pictures and we're taken using my one plus 7 pro. I edited and added the line

 14 days ago (edited) 
Thank you, brother! You know... have you considered using the #foodies TAG? I am sure @sirenahippie would love this story!!

!LUV

Hi @wesphilbin

This post is interesting, and as you say, the portions are quite generous. I think the confusion that @dreamingirwin had regarding the dish he ordered is that this restaurant is run by some Latin American, I see on the menu many words that are commonly used here: "carne molida" instead of "carne picada", "papa" instead of "patata", (what's more, I'm almost sure it's from someone Venezuelan). It is a beautiful place, and I see that it is a pleasant atmosphere.

Greetings @wesphilbin @dreamingirwin

 14 days ago  
Hello dear soul @sirenahippie! As soon as I saw this awesome post from @dreamingirwin, I figured I would give you a shout-out! You know me... always trying to help elevate the awesome of our blockchain. Thank you for your visit, and the curation...

!LUV
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@wesphilbin, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @sirenahippie and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/6 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

sirenahippie, wesphilbin sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Hello my dear @wesphilbin thank you for showing me this post, and yes, you always try to grow the platform. Hugs!

dreamingirwin, wesphilbin sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

@dreamingirwin, @wesphilbin Sent You a Share for the DrawMatic Lifetime Prize Draws!

The new share balances will be effective in the upcoming prize pool draws from now on, forever and ever...
DrawMatic shares last a lifetime!
The more shares you own, the higher your chance of winning in each and every upcoming draw! 😎
Drawmatic_cmtBanner.jpgJoin DrawMatic on Discord To check shares and other information, or if you want to gift any amount of shares you own to others.

 14 days ago (edited) 

!WEED

@dreamingirwin, @wesphilbin Sent You a Share for the DrawMatic Lifetime Prize Draws!

The new share balances will be effective in the upcoming prize pool draws from now on, forever and ever...
DrawMatic shares last a lifetime!
The more shares you own, the higher your chance of winning in each and every upcoming draw! 😎
Drawmatic_cmtBanner.jpgJoin DrawMatic on Discord To check shares and other information, or if you want to gift any amount of shares you own to others.

@dreamingirwin!

@wesphilbin passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan


Curated by wesphilbin