MEN LIKE GEORGE COOPER


image.png


I was going through some of my old tweets when I realized that I had tweeted about one of my favorite characters in the series Young Sheldon, George Cooper. Spoilers: he passed away after a heart attack. I had no idea how much the character's passing would affect me, even though I knew it would happen (because Young Sheldon is a prequel to The Big Bang Theory).

Young Sheldon is a series I follow religiously because of my love for The Big Bang Theory. There is just something relatable about Family Drama. Watching regular people (characters) live their lives on the screen is cathartic. This explains my love for the character George Cooper.

What I found most tragic about George's passing was the timing. He was just about to get the break he wanted, which was to coach a college football team, and for the first time, his wife, Mary Cooper, consented without any fuss. In previous seasons, when George got the coaching opportunity, Mary opposed it, which led him to forgo the job for his family. I remember writing about that episode and relating it to my premise about men being unsung heroes in their homes. They do a thankless job (when they are present) which is often trivialized.

George Cooper wasn't the most flashy character. He wasn't a major character in the series, but his presence was felt. He was the glue that held the Cooper family together. He did not pander to any of his kids as Mary did, but he was there when they needed him the most, and that, for me, is the height of fatherhood.


I was having this conversation with my wife yesterday about how men's emotions or even situations are not catered to. In hindsight, that was just me stating that I want to be appreciated (explicitly) by those I care about and cater to. I don't want my flowers in secret or on my grave, and that is something I am not ashamed to say.

Like many who are trying to break away from societal norms that have endangered my gender, I am very vocal about men giving and receiving love. It is one thing to be tolerated or acknowledged for the value you bring, and it is an entirely different thing to be loved and appreciated for being a human being.

I was watching this clip some months ago about how men are the worst versions of themselves when they have nothing to offer, and the creator was trying to understand why. Well, the answer is simple: most men do not attribute any value to their being. They have to become something to be loved, and unfortunately, those around them are the first to poke at this insecurity (often ignorantly).

So it is important to me that men are not centered destructively. We don't have all the answers; we have fears and insecurities; we are people too.

If you have men in your life, make it a point of duty to appreciate them. Vocalize and actualize the love you feel for them. See them past what they offer and love them for the amazing human beings they are. It goes a long way. Cheers!

Sort:  

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 99000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 23 days ago  
Don't forget to source your image... so we can curate your post...


Wes...
TDPBlinkie-anim.gif