My rivalry with my younger sister.

in Hive Naija23 days ago (edited)
Growing up, sibling rivalry was not just a phase; it was an ongoing saga, particularly between myself and my younger sister, the baby of the family. From the moment my mom gave birth to my younger sister, I became a third wheel. My younger sister was practically her shadow; people called her mummy's handbag. This left me with just my dad to bond with because my younger sister was obviously my mum's favourite child. This was the foundation of our rivalry since I had to battle for my mum's attention most of the time.


My younger sister.

My sister wanted to be treated like my twin rather than my younger sister. My mum bought us the same type of clothes and shoes; we always wore matching outfits, which I did not like, but it was my mum's way of preventing unnecessary drama from my younger sister, who is a drama queen.


Even in school, she felt like we were mates; she was always coming to my class at the slightest opportunity; she was always in my space. I was happy when I was going to boarding school; at least I would be away from the drama queen, but that only made her raid my wardrobe; she wore my clothes as if they were hers in my absence.


My younger sister and I

After getting admission to the university, our fight became more serious because she kept raiding my wardrobe and shoes. Her leg is an inch bigger than mine, so whenever she wears my shoes in my absence, some of them, especially the cover shoes, tend to expand to her size, making them impossible for me to wear since they will no longer fit me. I used to be hurt because it was easy to forgive her when she wore my clothes and made them hers, but as a lover of shoes, I couldn't bring myself to look away whenever I came back and noticed she had converted some of my shoes to hers. We would end up having some verbal exchange of words. My mum at some point, got tired; she blamed herself for giving me a sister, lamenting that she should have left me to contend with brothers alone. I actually have three older brothers.


She's my personal makeup artist.

The first time I got physical with her was in my third year of university, and that was when the breaking point came. I felt I needed to put her in her place. I was in school when I noticed some of the pictures her friends uploaded on Facebook. What they wore were my clothes. It was not enough that I had to endure her raiding my wardrobe, but she had extended it to giving out my clothes to her friends. On getting home during the break, I confronted her about it, and as usual, we had a verbal exchange of words. A few days later, a friend of hers came visiting, and guess what? She was wearing one of my most cherished winter jackets that I used my personal savings to buy; the same jacket I noticed was missing. I remember asking her about it, and she denied carrying it. Seeing her friend with the jacket, the pain was unbearable, so I went physical. It was at that point that my mum knew she had to caution her. I could not take the jacket back because I have very sensitive skin. I was emotional for days.


Despite our constant clashes, I still love her so much. I could not stand to see her being bullied by anyone outside. I would defend her fiercely; I was the only one who had every right to bully her, not outsiders. Though she's very stubborn, all my peers, her peers, and neighbours knew how not to mess with her because I was her protector whenever my brothers were away. We both genuinely cared about each other, and most times she was my partner in crime.


Our love was quite complex; being away from each other makes us miss each other dearly with constant calls and little gossip. But as the years passed, our rivalry faded away completely with a better understanding of what truly matters, even though she sometimes emotionally bullies me to get me to do things for her, which is normal with most younger siblings.

The last time I saw her in person was almost two years ago, because she's currently not in the country. Thank goodness for technology, so we do a lot of video calls.


ALL IMAGES ARE MINE.

Thank you for coming to my blog 🤗, kindly leave a comment.

https://inleo.io/threads/view/leogrowth/re-leothreads-xtywycom

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Your sister surely bullied you till you had to retaliate. Good she maintained her space after the fight incident.

Yeah, it was very frustrating and annoying back then.

No no no!
That's not it, giving out your clothes to her friends was extreme, I for don explode since.
You really were patient enough to condone all her excesses.
I know I used to convert my elder siblings belongings too and just like your younger sister, I tend to wear my sister's clothes and before you know it, it became mine🤣💔😭
My wardrobe was filled with more of my sister's dress than it was of me especially when we were much younger.
But as I grew older and we became distanced, I learned to let go of that habit

I was just laughing and smiling when I read this knowing I've been in this space before but I wouldn't have given out my sister's belongings to my friends, that alone is what I wouldn't have done.

Honestly, seeing her friends with my clothes was very annoying. And she didn't see anything wrong with that. Thank goodness she has grown to understand not to do that.

Thank you for stopping by.

That's good then

 23 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Congratulations @didiyilji! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List