Hive Naija Weekly Prompt | Edition 43 ~ The Unexpected Accident

in Hive Naija16 days ago

46aP2QbqUqBqpx5c7Zikd2HFMqywJNqDeZVr22vYLLq3mmDMvC912rHdEU8u3wVRir7pmUbsVA5VJwyKTKueXGNTuDh8.png

Independency - When was the first time you felt truly independent or older than your age?




This question got me laughing hard because I was trying to calculate and think back to the first time I felt truly independent or older than myself and I seriously can not pinpoint the exact time I felt truly independent or older than myself.

You might be wondering why it is such a hard task to do that, but that's the truth because the circumstances surrounding my being truly independent and older than my age happened unexpectedly altering so much in my life and when the vacant was empty and nobody was available to make some crucial decisions for the family, I had to take up that role and that was how I automatically had to take up a role of being the oldest one and the head in the family.




Being the first child in this part of my world means being independent and acting older than your age, especially in situations where you have younger siblings, although the lucky thing about my own was that I wasn't forced to become independent or act older than my age at my tender age, as most parents impose on their first born child even at a very tender age.

It wouldn't be a surprise to me in this part of the world if every child especially the firstborn child in the family had to become independent at a tender age. For me, I had to take up the role because of circumstances which was at my adolescent age but even at that, it wasn't what I expected.




IMG-20211030-WA0013.jpg,

I think I felt being able to make decisions not just for myself but for my mom and younger ones, made me feel older than my age but even at that, I never felt truly independent because I had an authoritarian mother who always did what she wished and how she wished because on some cases she still wanted to take charge.

The first time I ever felt truly independent was the first time I stood up to my mom and went against her words and advice of getting married to a man who was old enough to be my father out of her selfishness, self-centeredness, and greed.




62PdCouTvNPD4Ewnt81FpyJK4VTFfLrE49bSu5TkQabrMWnhCxHuC1GEWjiZeAJzLjbyf3PtCb1PDW4uVMpS453sf922LXMAfBL4ntBSFJ91UGN.jpeg

I was just an eighteen-year-old girl, fresh from secondary school, and was supposed to be getting to know more about myself and who I am and not being shipped out for marriage because of circumstances.

Just maybe if she had said that I would grow to love him if I got to marry him, then told me that I didn't need to love him to get married to him, that night and decided that I wasn't going to let my mum continue pushing me in such trivial case of life as that, so after that fateful night I lay down and thought about my life and made a decision to oppose to her ridiculous idea and since then I have felt better.




This is my entry to Hive Naija Weekly Prompt | Edition 43

Posted Using InLeo Alpha