It ended on a platter of bronze.

in Hive Naija15 days ago

Relationships are fascinating and complex. Whether it’s a romantic partnership, a friendship, or a family bond, relationships play a significant role in our lives, but sometimes they come with silly excuses, things that you would be shocked when you listened to. Some excuses people come up with to avoid or end relationships can indeed be surprising. From the classic "It's not you, it's me" to more elaborate explanations, the range of excuses seems endless.

Sometimes, it's the fear of commitment or the realization that the connection isn't as strong as initially thought. Other times, external factors like distance or conflicting priorities come into play. Whatever the reason, navigating relationships can be a journey filled with unexpected twists and turns. Yet, despite the occasional absurdity of excuses, the essence of relationships remains deeply human, with all its complexities, vulnerabilities, and joys.

Image source

I ended a relationship for a serious reason back then, but now that I think about it, I feel it was a silly reason, which I am not proud of. Actually, my ex and I had our differences, which made me love her, but that same difference was what separated us. Nothing lasts in the accused world.

My ex and I had our differences, as I mentioned, which sometimes led to misunderstandings. There were days when we would argue about the future, which wasn't too serious, but what really caused the misunderstanding that led to our breakup was her excessive jealousy. She didn't like seeing other women around me. While it's normal for someone to be protective of their partner, her jealousy even extended to my extended family members.

On that particular day in 202-, as I was setting out to travel to Sokoto State from Lagos, friends and family called to wish me a safe trip and shared some survival tips. I appreciated their concern, but when my ex called, it was to nag and issue a list of instructions on avoiding other women: "Don't go out too much," "wear glasses so women can't see your face," and so on. The advice was becoming irritating and annoying so, I responded, "What's your issue? If I had wanted another woman, nothing would have stopped me, certainly not your instructions. You couldn't even offer a prayer for me." and that response marked the start of the end.

When I was in Sokoto, we hardly spoke to each other, not because I did not want to talk to her but because I was mostly busy and there wasn't much time to communicate, but we chatted almost every day. After I got back from Sokoto, I called to check on her and also apologize for what happened before I left for Sokoto. During the conversation, she started with her inquisitive act again. "I hope you did not find another girl in Sokoto," she said, and playfully, I answered, "I did," and that started an argument. I was tired of the nagging and the trust she didn't have in me. We ended the call angrily, and our egos set in. I was always the one making the apology, but this time I promised myself not to apologize until she did.

A month turned two without me realizing it because I had just started working for a new firm and it was tasking. Two months turned to three, and it went on like that while we waited for the first person to apologize. Anyway, we waited a long time—more than a year—and we finally ended things. Silly right?

Now that I think about it, if I had apologized, I believe we might still be together today. I shouldn't have let my ego set in, I have learned, and I think I know how to handle such situation better now.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

wow fash didnt expect u to be like that o.o

Like what brother 😨😨😨

o.o like ego to break up like that thought u were calm

I was actually, but I was forced. Imagine you always apologize even when you're not wrong, but when you refuse to be the bigger person and apologize, everything ends.

O.O forced. i see that sucks. Then Maybe it was the right thing to end it

I believe it was the right thing
!BBH

@shawnnft! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (3/5)

o.o yes i think so too no regret

Nagging can be frustrating oh Ending the relationship has saved you from serious mental health problem, you didn't forsee. She might one day break a bottle on your head if she sees you with another lady.

It's often said that a jealous woman will either kill herself or her husband.

Congrats my brother, you dodged a bullet 😊😊

Yeah, I was glad at a point because things ended. I was asked never to post anyone doing birthday so long its friends and if its family. I have to tell her before that day. It was really mentally draining. I couldnt even make friends anymore

As if I knew. You'd have been walking in her shadows literally. As a girl myself, I hate being policed. It very uncomfortable. Congrats once again

Hehehe
Thanks
!BBH

@d-honeyb! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (2/5)

 15 days ago  

Can’t say I blame you. I would be irritated as hell if any man would nag me like that. You sure had a lot of patience. I will end it when it seems you have no trust in me. I can’t come and kill myself. Because of what? Relationship? lol.

Maybe you both would still be together but what is the guarantee that she’d grow up?

It’s was getting toxic at a point
Cause things like
What year do you think we are getting married started entrying.
Man, I haven’t even done my nysc and this is already happening. So when she refused to apologize, I just felt it wasn’t important to her like it was to me

She is just protecting her love, I honestly don't have issue with that kind of girl cos normally she would always meet me where she left me which is in my apartment so no room for doubt but if you are the extroverted kind , then that probably made her paranoid you will look out to other girls or they come for you

hmmmmmm.
I get your point.
Well, it not always as it seems but I get your point. I believe I am smarter now to handle situation like this

 14 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif