Disguised Blessing, Perhaps

in Hive Naija16 days ago

Waking up one morning and being asked to pack out of my residence and spending the rest of the day figuring out where I would lay head that night to rest had to be the most embarrassing and stressful day I had had in a very long time. I had heard stories of people being sent out of their residence for one reason or another, but one thing that was common among them that didn't apply to my case was a timely notice.

I think how it works is that if your rent is due, you'd be informed. If you stay too long without doing something about your rent, then you'd be given a notice to leave within a stipulated time. The most I heard in my case was that the owner of our residence said the night before that he wanted to leave the next morning. We all didn't think he meant it until we realised it the next day.

I was on a phone call with a loved one when a friend came knocking on my door to inform me that we really had been asked to pack all of our things and leave the block. Apparently, it was only my block, out of four, that they were interested in.

Quickly growing perplexed, I dropped the call to face reality and began to pack my things, just as I had seen others do.

You see, one of the reasons I do not like to travel is because I would have to pack. Packing, for me, is not the most fascinating thing to do. And so I spent way longer putting my things together. Eventually, I finished, and the next step was to take out all of my things and find somewhere else to keep them.

Since it was just my apartment block, I found other rooms in other apartment blocks to keep my things. I couldn't help but imagine the level of disregard for Corpers that I had just witnessed.

We were staying in a place where its owner chose not to take money from us, being cops that come to serve. All of a sudden, however, that card was reversed and we were sent out, which was the biggest shock I received.

IMG_20230805_165440.jpg

I spent most of my day packing and then moving my bags to different rooms to keep them. Eventually, I found a place to stay that night. It turned out that the lodge president had reorganised room arrangements to contain all of the rest of us in the other rooms with fellow Corpers. That's how I found myself a new room to stay in.

In this new room now, to say the least, it turned out to be way better than where I was before. Considering that I have to share the space with five other people, it's rather interesting to spend some time chatting with them. What's more important and astonishing to me, however, is how much cool air I enjoy in comparison to where I was before.

I used to complain about heat a lot in my former room, so much so that it caused me unfavourable conditions. Over there, where I used to be, I only had one window, and opening the door never did much to beat the heat. What I have now are three big windows.

Enjoying the cool air at night and the gentle breeze during the day, I considered the embarrassing eviction to be some form of blessing to me. I am no longer worried about heat, and I am sleeping a lot longer, as though I am taking inducing tables.

As much as I didn't like how we were treated, I kind of like where I am now. I hope it remains that way over time. Let's see what happens in a few days...


All images belong to me

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Congratulations @olujay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

That's pretty messed up. Is the place of residence not supposed to be government-owned or something?
This whole NYSC of a thing keeps getting complicated and uninteresting day by day.

Sorry about the ordeal, man.
I'm glad it all turned out great in the end.

You'll be done next month eh?

 12 days ago  

It actually isn't a government-owned property, but the government liased with the actual property owner to let Corpers have a place to stay. In reality, there should be a standard and actual government-built place for Corpers, but that's not the case.

I have now settled, and I kind of like where I am now. Made new friends and it has better ventilation.

And, yes, I aill be done next month, thankfully.

Oh. I see.
A lot of things need rework in this country. We'll get there. One day.
At least it's good you found a better place now.

Congratulations in advance. Will be looking forward to seeing you soon man.🫡
Best of luck!

 5 days ago  

One day, we'll get there.
And, yes, the place is fairly conducive. I can't complain, though.

Thanks, man.

When a door closes, a new room with better opportunities opens up for you!

 12 days ago  

Indeed. Thank you! Where have you been, by the way?

I can imagine the level of panic when you would have to pack up and leave on a short notice. !LOLZ. These unusual experiences make us aware of our true potential, Jay. Don't you think? 😉

It's good to know that you have got a better room. Hope the comfort will continue

Curated by Hive Pakistan. Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

What did the mayonnaise say to the icebox?
Close the door, I am dressing.

Credit: reddit
@olujay, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of amberkashif

(1/1)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

 12 days ago  

I was worried for hours and stressed with the many things I had to move around. But it's all good now, as it all pushed me to realising certain things about myself. So, yes, I do think so, Amber. And I actually feel much better now. Thank you for the curation, too!

I am imagining the stress of packing and unpacking from my views. Not always a cool thing to move out from where you've become accustomed to. Sorry for that, turns out you are even enjoying your new resident.

 12 days ago  

Yes, a few days in and I can say this new place is pretty alright. I am with new people, having new interactions, and the experience is generally okay. By the way. Have you done through your service year?

Not yet, just imagining the stressstress I'll go through

 5 days ago  

It's not all that bad, actually. Just try to make the most of it when your time comes, I'd advise.

 15 days ago  

Na wa o. You just started the story with heart attack. My mind don fly. I was thinking “ye!” While reading. But glad that turned out to be a blessing.

 12 days ago  

Omo, it was an actual heart ache when I received the news o. I sha thank God that things are much better. The things we face offline...you get?

You open door to sleep?

So it's only the mosquitoes in my area that enters houses when they're not invited 😞😭😭😞

 12 days ago  

My guy, it was either that or suffering certain skin conditions due to heat sometimes. I often used insecticides anyway.

That's a very bad act from whoever own the block you were staying before. That overnight notice is pure wickedness. Well, things seemed to have worked out for your good regardless of how the day started.

Is the room big enough for 6 of you in that room?

 12 days ago  

I was just wondering if these people here even remember how service was during their time, that they choose not to be compassionate sometimes. It happens anyway, and such is life.

I actually moved into an apartment with one bedroom and living room, so three are in the bedroom, and the rest of us are in the living room. It's actually a fair space for only two in each places, not six, but thankfully, the other traveled.

Oh okay, an apartment is much better. I thought it was a normal room size.

 5 days ago  

nah. it's actually fairly conducive here