Ready Player One

in Hive Naija22 days ago

I think my closest friend as a child was my game console. My Playstation 2 and I were as close as gum on an old shoe. I cared for it like it was a part of my body, and it took care of my feelings and imaginations with my favourite games. "Till death do us apart" was the vow, until it was actually fulfilled.

image.png
PlayStation 2

The first console we had, my brother and I, was actually the PlayStation 1. It was such a memorable time for us, playing with the popular PS1 right in our home. Sadly, we forgot to pack it back when we left a cousin's house, and so we just forgot about it as it was such a long distance to travel again. Soon enough, our parents bought us a PS2 console.

Having a brother to play video games with was just so cool. Although we had different levels of passion and zeal, as well as game favourites, the console brought us close in some ways as we played adventure games together or played against each other in player-versus-player games. Being the older brother, I was usually player one ninety-nine percent of the time.

Mostly, player one had master controls but came in to play when navigating game options and interfaces. We also always had agreements on what to play. It is different with the new games and consoles now, though, as both players have the liberty to navigate.

Again, I was more passionate about gaming than my brother, so I spent more time with it, playing solo games like Bad Boys 2, God Hand, Command Strike Force, and Ben 10, my favourites. I was always in a completely different world and had high concentration on those games while playing. Sleep didn't mean much to me, especially when there were tough levels to pass.

image.png
PlayStation 1

I got into trouble a few times, of course. Let's say I became so addicted to my game console and its games that I became way less efficient and effective with my errands. Nothing too serious, though. Mom would just ground me in such times.

We always needed electricity to be able to play the console. Unfortunately, it's not regular or consistent here. And so, whenever the electricy from the grid was returned, I'd dash to my console as fast as I could.

The PS2 controllers, Dual Shock 2, were the last wired controllers Sony made. Ever since—in PS3, PS4, and PS5—the controllers have been wireless. But there was something about having a pad (controller) with wires.

Since the Dual Shock 2 controllers were wired, there was always a limit to how far you could get from the console, defined by the pad's length. What that also meant for us if we ever suddenly dropped or pulled back the pad for whatever reason was that we were risking our console falling and damaging the pads. Rolling the wires of the controller brings back these memories.

image.png
Dual Shock 2 controller

Jeez, looking at the Dual Shock 2 controller up close makes me feel nostalgic. The good old days of tapping the buttons and moving the analog joysticks around. Some games sometimes require aggressive pressing of the buttons or moving the analog joysticks. And then I usually try to enter game combinations or cheat codes.

My memory was way sharper then. I could memorise game combinations for different games and deploy them when necessary in those games. Cheat codes, too. Sometimes, a little more could be unleashed, and so I learned a few things from some games on the internet.


I can go on and on and on about my childhood with video games and my PlayStation 2 game console, as well as the sleepless nights I had because of them. But at this point, it's clear that, if I could bring back something from my childhood, it would be my console and the happy times I had with it. I still have one of the Dual Shock 2 controllers, though, so I could keep it as a relic.


Inspired by the Hive Naija Weekly Prompts, Edition 45

Image 1, 2, and 3

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Nice. This is a favourite past time of mine that I always reminisce whenever the opportunity presents itself. Playing video games on PlayStation was like a life mission to me during those times. Nowadays, is more of a hobby that I seldom have the time to practice.

 20 days ago  

Man! Life mission is spot-on. Sadly, and unlike you, I don't play videos games anymore. I may own a console sometime in the future, though. What games do you play now?

Oh right. I think it's good to play them every now and then, it can be a good mindset shifter for me. It's mostly online RPG games like Elden Ring and Diablo. Sometimes, rockstar games too.

Even the way you're mentioning the names and kinds of games you played with it, it's obvious you had a blast with your Game console lol.

Luckily for you although won't give the perfect feel as the old one did, there are better Ps games now hehe

 20 days ago  

I had a blast o
The games I had then meant so much to me.

Of course. I even played PS2 sometime last year, but it didn't feel as great as it did before. I'd rather play PS5 now as it is has a much better gaming experience. Did you ever play video games?

I only dabbled around it, can't say I really played it 😅

 16 days ago  

Now I am trying imagine Mer Mer playing video games. What an interesting thought.

Lol interesting indeed 😅

I envy y'all thay got to play these games, I never got to play any of these games. The guys that had the games or played the games in my area then were bad boys. So, my parent never allowed me join them.

I can't even play😂😂

 20 days ago  

There were actually game centers around to play PS2 and PS1 back then, but I don't think there were so many bad boys that would have prevented me from playing games there. I couldn't have know anyway, since I wasn't that outgoing and even had my own console. Would you like to own one sometime in the future, bro?

Actually, I could have found my way and learned in one of those shops but I used to be scared of my parents finding out.

Sure, I would love to own one in the future.

 16 days ago  

Yeah, true. You had to play it safe. You can always own onw in the future.

Having someone to play game brings some kind of closeness, only gamers can understand

 20 days ago  

True, that. Only gamers know that feeling.

 22 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Congratulations @olujay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 85000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.
You made more than 10000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.
You received more than 9000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 10000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP