From ungrateful child to appreciative mother

in Hive Naija11 days ago

I am a mother, and I can tell how much mothers sacrifice for their children. I never understood how important it is to be a mother until I became one.

When I was little, I used to complain about how my mom didn't give us three square meals and how some other kids wore good clothes while we didn't have more than two clothes.

The first day I discovered that I was pregnant with my first child, I was so happy to become a mother, even though throughout the nine months I didn't enjoy myself for a day until the day I was put to bed. That day, I realized that I should have been more grateful to my mother for bringing me into the world. That day, I saw what women pass through before they can be called mothers. by the time the child came to the world I also realize that every woman needs to be celebrated because it wasn't easy to be uncomfortable for nine months, and on that delivery day woman went through a lot.

After the nine months, the journey continues, starting with teaching the child what to do in life. I remember how I was so ungrateful to my mother despite raising me so well, and yet she has never complained or neglected me because I was the last born of the family, so she would always tell my siblings that they shouldn't mind me that I was still a child.

There was a day my husband had an accident, and he couldn't help with the children's responsibility for some months. I had to look for petty jobs in my area so that I could take care of him and my children.


image belongs to me

Then I remembered that I was just a baby when my father died, and we were left for my mother to take care of us without having any job she was doing. I remember her doing every available job in our area back then.

I had to call her and appreciate her for being a strong woman and for standing beside us despite the fact that she wasn't rich, but she tried all she could to make sure we were okay, even if she wasn't.

I remember some nights she had to starve to bed just because she wanted the food to be enough for us. I remember how many times she would buy food for credit on our street just to make sure we ate. Every mother deserves to be happy, to be appreciated, and to be celebrated.

There was an adage that said, "Iya ni wura," meaning "mothers are precious." There is no doubt about how precious every mother is because they are our first teacher in life.

So let me make use of this time to wish every beautiful soul who took their time and sacrificed their life for their children to be called a mother Happy Mother's Day, including me as well, because I would give up on everything for my children to be okay, just like my mother did back then.

Now I know what it feels like to be a mother, and believe me when I say mother's day should be celebrated every day and not just one day in a year.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha